Latin American & Caribbean Studies

This collection provides rich documentation of the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements. It contains the periodicals accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions held at the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.

dLOC is a cooperative of Partners within the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean that provides access to Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Collections speak to the similarities and differences in histories, cultures, languages and governmental systems. Types of content include newspapers, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official documents, documentation and numeric data for ecosystems, scientific scholarship, historic and contemporary maps, oral and popular histories, travel accounts, literature and poetry, musical expressions, and artifacts.

This collection of digitized archival material covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, and economic issues and the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries. In the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti, and the Dominican Republic are represented. This collection includes cables, memoranda, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.

The first module, Settlement, Slavery and Empire, 1624-1832, documents the history of British colonies throughout the Caribbean from early settlement to the eve of the Slavery Abolition Act passed in 1833. It features volumes from The National Archives, UK sourced from 26 different Colonial Offices and includes material related to 27 Caribbean colonies, such as administrative documentation, trade and shipping records, minutes of council meetings, as well as details of plantation life, colonial settlement, imperial rivalries across the region, and the growing concern of absentee landlords.

Provides access to a digital collection of primary (and secondary) source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. The scope ranges from the colonial period to the present and includes monographs, manuscripts, pamphlets, letters, expedition records, journals, periodicals, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, newspaper accounts, news feeds, audio and video, and more.

FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.