Additional information about BrowZine is available here.
BrowZine for UCI
A current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all UC Irvine faculty, staff, and students.
BrowZine is designed to facilitate an experienced researcher to quickly narrow to their area of expertise and follow known, ranked titles of interest. Its main intent is to assist scholars in staying current in their field of expertise by providing a reader with superior browsing capabilities.
American Society of American Society of American Institute Materials Research Institute of Electrical Annual Review
Civil Engineers Mechanical Engineers of Chemical Society & Electronics
Engineers Engineering
Note:
Due to the status between the UC System and Elsevier, journal titles marked as [Elsevier] will not grant full-text access to content from 2019 and later.
To get full-text articles published in 2019 and later, please see our Alternative Access page.
CAS is announcing the discontinuation of the client version of SciFinder on June 30, 2011 for all U.S. and Canadian academic institutions. On this date, all seats at these institutions will access the web version only. SciFinder Scholar is now available on the Web for current students, faculty, and staff at all UC campuses. One time registration is required for new users, then login and search. Off-campus access requires use of the Cisco VPN software. The web version does not require any additional software and is compatible with Windows, Macintosh and Unix-based operating systems.
This selected list will direct you to the databases which will serve you in finding journal articles, conference papers and proceedings. Access can additionally be found via Library Search, MELVYL, and from other Subject Guides, and from Finding Online Resources Link on the Library Website. Usually the output is either in reverse chronological order with the most recent information coming up first or can be changed to be retrieved by a relevance ranking. By using the UC eLink icon, one can quickly discover whether UCI offers access to the fulltext content that is referenced. This may be in the form of a pdf, in html, or re-keyed as part of the database. One can usually eMail the list of relevant retrieved citations, or download the articles to oneself. One can also enter or direct them into a Bibliographic Management Software folder. One can also print articles or content.
If access is not available via the UCI Libraries, one can request a copy of the article or paper via ILL using MELVYL REQUEST or re-entering the full citation in the Library Search ILL request form.
The list is an alphabetical arrangement of the database titles - the primary coverage for Computer Science is probably found via Inspec, ACM Digital Library, and the Web of Science.
* Indicates UCI Access Only
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
This selective list of publishers indicates the major publishing partners that UCI and UC Libraries has. As a result we have a large percentage of the journals or papers issued by this publisher or society available electronically.
* Indicates UCI Access Only
Heads up researchers! Beginning FY 2020 (October 2019) Federal funders now require ORCID iD registration for all new fellowship, research training, education, and career development proposals.
(See https://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/notice-files/NOT-OD-19-109.html for the original notice.) ORCID is an open, non-profit, community-based effort to provide a registry of unique digital researcher identifiers. These unique identifiers help identify articles written by the same author using various forms of his, her, or their names. This registry also provides a way to link research activities, such as publication and data set creation, to these identifiers. Beyond the federal funding requirements, you’ll be doing the research community a favor by participating – the more the ORCID buy-in, the further along we all get toward the goal of seamless, comprehensive and accurate compilation of individual authors’ works.
On December 31, 2022, the SciFinder “classic” interface will be retired for the University of California system. Going forward, we will only have access to SciFinder-n (or SciFindern, https://scifinder-n.cas.org).
CAS has created some good training videos on SciFinder-n (https://www.cas.org/support/training/scifinder-n). There are also some upcoming webinars, and I can offer training to classes, research groups, and individuals.
Updated: Mitchell Brown (June 16, 2022) contact at mcbrown@uci.edu