Research Guides: Gender and Sexuality Studies: Research Databases

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Browzine

Browzine is a platform for browsing scholarly journals online or on a mobile device. The biggest features of this platform are the ability to create a personal library of journals and the ability to save articles to read offline. This is an excellent resource for researchers and students to quickly and easily know what is being published in the current issues of journals they regularly follow.

Browse journals available through this resource related to the following subjects:

Women's Studies

Ethnic, Race, and Gender Studies

Lesbian. Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies

Selected Databases

This list of research databases focuses on secondary scholarship such as analysis or critique. Please see the plethora of other research guides too - while this list focuses on resources specific to the gender and sexuality studies space, other disciplinary databases in history, sociology, anthropology, political science, etc. might be quite useful. In those disciplinary databases or in more general multidisciplinary databases, you can add specific keywords to your search to help look for research through a specific lens or angle.

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
This database indexes alternative, radical, and left periodicals and magazines. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and the database is updated on a quarterly basis.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Covers women's issues in such areas as education, health, legal status, reproductive rights, feminism, pay equity, lesbian concerns, culture and customs, and arts in more than 190 countries.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development and social welfare.
5 simultaneous users allowed at one time. If unable to access, please try again later.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Life searches across scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications, plus historically important primary sources, including books, magazines and newspapers. It includes historical LGBTQ publications, including ONE, The Ladder, Mattachine Review, The Advocate, Christopher Street, Body Politic, The New York Native, and much more.

The Vogue Archive
The Vogue Archive contains the backfile of Vogue magazine (US edition), spanning the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Issues are scanned from cover to cover, with article/page feature pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs included, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database for women’s studies and feminist research. It provides indexing and abstracts for numerous journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations and grey literature.
Only allows 5 users at one time. Try again later if inaccessible.

Explore Related Journals

Journals on feminism and women

General Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A go-to general, multidisciplinary research database that provides indexing and full text for thousands of journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.

Literature

Black Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Literature and essays on feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Facing both sexism and racism, black women needed to create their own identities and movements. The collection documents that effort, presenting the woman’s perspective on the diversity and development of black people generally, and in particular the works document the evolution of black feminism.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period This link opens in a new window
A collection of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. The database also includes numerous biographical and critical essays.
Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new window
This collection comprises literary works, memoirs, and essays written by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains full text, English-language play scripts written by female playwrights from North America. Most plays have been written since 1900, but it does include about a hundred written prior to that date.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period This link opens in a new window
Contains Romantic Poetry by Scottish women poets as well as contemporary critical reviews and scholarly essays.

How to Search

Boolean Operators

AND makes a search narrower by retrieving results with both keywords: Gender AND race
OR makes a search broader by linking synonyms: youth OR child
NOT narrows your search by excluding specific terms: adult NOT child
"" use quotation marks to retrieve exact phrases

Search string examples

"self care" AND (capitalism OR commodification or commercialization )
("Violence Against Women Act" OR VAWA) AND "women of color"