Research Guides: French & Francophone Studies: Research Databases

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Ask a Librarian

Research Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is an index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in other subscription databases. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
ARTFL: Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of French-language texts from the 12th through the 20th centuries in FRANTEXT and other databases; dictionaries and encyclopedias from the 16th through the early 20th centuries; as well as the Trésor de la Langue Française informatisée (TLFi) and the Dictionnaire vivant de la langue française (DVLF).
Caribbean Literature This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Cairn.info This link opens in a new window
Cairn.info is an online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities.
Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog This link opens in a new window
CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America. Titles can be requested though ILL, but CRL has digitized numerous collections as well.

Gallica (Bibliotheque Nationale de France)
This massive digitization project of the French national library makes available electronic texts in French literature, history and culture ranging from the Middle ages to the nineteenth century. Texts are in PDF format.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance This link opens in a new window
This portal provides access to a number of collections, including Iter Bibliography, Iter Italicum, Early Theatre journal, and the REED Newsletter.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Periodicals archive online makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. It is international in scope, with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.