Research Guides: Environmental & Occupational Health Subject Guide: Subject Databases

Health Sciences Librarian

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Public Health

Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
GIDEON This link opens in a new window
Resource for data on Infectious Diseases. Includes data on bacterial, fungal, parasitic and viral infections, vaccines and immunoglobulins, microbes, and drugs.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the literature on risks arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment of the magnitude and probability of risk and the management of risk.
TRIP Pro This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence.
UptoDate This link opens in a new window
Point of care resource of filtered, synopsized, and evidence-based information. Contains clinical references which are the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original peer-reviewed text. Specific practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment are provided.
VisualDX This link opens in a new window
A diagnostic and visual clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Includes thousands of images representing hundreds of visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. Quickly search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or review travel or medication-related events at the point of care.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

* = Restricted to UCI only

Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, book chapters, conference abstracts and articles. Includes Full-text via UC-eLinks to the UCI Libraries’ collection of e-journals.
*GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
TOXNET®: Toxicology Data Network
WEBSITE HAS MOVE, see instruction on how to retrieve the data

Search PubMed

PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

PubMed Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. Select "Clinical Queries" from the PubMed Homepage. Enter your search terms in the search box and select the relevant filters and scope.