Research Guides: Electrical Engineering & Computer Science: Reference Works & Special Resources

Reference Works

* Indicated UCI Access Only

Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
Call number: Science Library (SL), Q123 .A33 1992.
Access Science*
Current online edition of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

ASTM Compass
A collection of industry-leading standards. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Datasheets.com
A free electronic component site that allows you to search or browse for genuine datasheets by part, category, or manufacturer.
Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
A dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures archetypal problems, and related definitions. From the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Energy Central*
Energy Central provides a broad base of information products - news, directories, events, databases, books, periodicals, reports - all focused on the electric power industry. It includes sections with news articles, industry data, and company profiles.
Engineering Network

Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)
Reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and Web, as well as technology vendors. FAITS also links to technology and businessnews resources such as TechWeb, NewsFactor, CBS MarketWatch, and BBC.

Byrne’s Electrical Engineering Hot Links
Many categories of information links to content useful to electrical engineers including antennas, batteries, boards, capacitors, connectors, memory, relays, resistors, sensors, switches, and even what’s cool.
Electronic Design
Electrical engineering schematics, tutorials, components, online calculators, newsgroups, newsfeeds, and magazines. Designed by EEs for EEs.
Gale Directory Library
Directory Library includes Encyclopedia of Associations for U.S. and international nonprofit organizations.
Handbook of Formulas and Tables for Signal Processing*
Handbook of Object Technology*
Print version.
Call number: Science Library (SL), QA76.9.O35 H35 1999.
IC Master. 3 vols
Call number: Science Library (SL) Ref, TK 7874 I32.
Industrial.org
Industrial Quick Search
Online industrial directory for US & Canada serving buyers & engineers.
Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers
MacRae's Bluebook
Nanopedia: Nanoworld's Organization of Nanotechnology
Optics InfoBase*
Optics InfoBase contains OSA's seven signature journals as well as two co-published titles with a digital archive backfile.
Plunkett Research Online
Current market research and analysis in a broad spectrum of industries including information technology, biotech and telecommunications.
Power Electronics Handbook*
ThomasNet
Directory of product services and catalogs for industrial and engineering use. Combines (67,000) categories. Can reduce down to specific category.
Wiktionary
Free multilingual dictionary in every language with definitions, etymologies, pronunciations, quotations and synonyms. Wiktionary is the lexical companion to the open-content encyclopedia Wikipedia

Wiley Encyclopedia of Telecommunications: 5 vols.

Call number: Science Library (SL) Ref, TK5102 .W55 2003.

Specialized Electrical Engineering & Computer Science Sites

* Indicates UCI Access Only

AVEL
A portal to quality resources in Sustainable Systems and Engineering. Covers hot topics in Sustainable Systems, emerging topics in Engineering, and foundation topics in Engineering.

Circuits Archive
A circuits database for all electrical engineers from the College of Engineering at the University of Washington.
CogWeb
CogWeb is a research tool for exploring the relevance of he study of human cognition to communication and the arts. The historical content is largely restricted to the print culture of the Early Modern period (1500-1800).
EE World Online
Offers free access to many resources including articles on broadband business, cable telephony, fiber optics, HFC architecture, In-Stat MDR research highlights, buyer’s guide, and an email alerting service.
Computational Science Education Project
Electronic book for teaching computational science and engineering to students in science and engineering at the advanced undergraduate level and higher. Includes tutorials for networking and visualization software.
Directory of Suppliers for Engineering, Processing, and Materials
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies (FAITS)*
Virtual library of reports covering IT infrastructure, telecom, data networking, wireless communications, security, enterprise systems, the Internet and Web, as well as technology vendors.

more... less...

FAITS also links to technology and business news resources such as TechWeb, NewsFactor, CBS MarketWatch and BBC.
Green Scanner
This site is a public database of opinions about the environmental friendliness of various products.
Information Week Blog
Archived daily updates of trends and business events in the information technology industry as reported by Information Today.
Scientific Visualization Sites
A worldwide annotated bibliography of scientific visualization sites. A service of NAS(Numerical Aerospace Simulation). Facility at NASA Ames Research Center.
Technick.net
Tons of hardware information including pinouts, circuit diagrams, product reviews, utilities such as conversion tools and impedance and capacitance calculators, and an online forum.
Thomas' Regester
Directory of product services and catalogs for industrial and engineering use. Combines (67,000) categories. Can reduce down to specific category.
Twysted Pair
Tools to help you work with resistors, capacitors, inductors, FETs, transformers, diodes, transistors, digital logic, TTL, and CMOS devices. Fundamental electronics concepts.
ZDNet
Ziff-Davis site for reviews, news, downloads, how-to’s and help guides, jobs, salary guide, and ZD published computer magazines including Macworld, PC Computing, PC Magazine, PC Week, Computer Shopper, and Yahoo! Internet Life.
R&D Magazine - Information Technology
This online news service has a strong IT component that covers: electronics, green technology, artificial intelligence, comsumer electronics, nanotechnology and other current high interest featured topics.