UCI Udemy is free to all UCI employees and students to support their professional growth and development. More than 5,500 curated online training courses are available on Udemy’s learning platform.
Udemy’s course options are all designed to provide learners with relevant instruction to help further both professional and personal development goals.
This taxonomy is based on a data taxonomy from: Shneiderman, B. (1996). The eyes have it: A task by data type taxonomy for information visualizations. Proceedings of IEEE Symposium on Visual Languages - Boulder, CO (pp. 336-343).
The taxonomy is heavily weighted toward the more abstract information visualization techniques and is less representative of scientific visualizations, which can be highly specialized by domain and are more difficult to generalize.
lists of data items, organized by a single feature (e.g., alphabetical order)
(not commonly visualized)
Tools: GeoCommons, Google Fusion Tables, Google Maps API, Polymaps, d3/Protovis, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Tableau Public, Sci2, TileMill
Image:
Drzyzga, S. (2009). Prevalence of Food stamp Use.
CC BY-NC 2.0
Tools: d3/Protovis (Dorling Cartogram)
Image:
Morrison, J. (2008). Cartogram of election results based on data from FiveThirtyEight.com.
CC BY-NC 2.0
Tools: GeoCommons, Google Fusion Tables, Google Maps API, Polymaps, Tableau Public, Sci2, TileMill
Image: 
Chun, B. (2010). Dots in My Neighborhood.
CC BY-SA 2.0
Tools: GeoCommons, Google Fusion Tables, Google Maps API, Polymaps, d3/Protovis, Many Eyes, Tableau Public, Sci2, TileMill
Image: 
Hirst, T. (2008). Proportional symbol map.
CC BY 2.0
Tools: TileMill
Image:
Seattle Municipal Archives. (2008/1938). Green Lake depth contour map.
CC BY 2.0
Tools:
Image:
Cathey, H. M. (1990). USDA Hardiness Zones in North America.
Public Domain
Examples (artificial planes):
Examples: Last.fm, Places and Spaces
Image created in Matlab from sample data set.
Broadly, examples of scientific visualization:
See also:
Wills, G. (2012). Visualizing Time. New York: Springer.
Examples:
Tools: SIMILE Timeline, TimeFlow, Timeline JS, Excel
Image: 
Friendly, M. & Denis, D. J. (2001). Milestones in the history of thematic cartography, statistical graphics, and data visualization. Web document, http://www.datavis.ca/milestones/. Accessed: August 30, 2012.
Tools: most statistical and charting software, R (A Little Book of R for Time Series), Timeplot, TimeSearcher, Google Charts, Tableau Public, Google Fusion Tables
Image: 
Copley, Z. (2012). Annual Mean Temperature Charts.
CC BY-SA 2.0
Tools: Protovis, JMP, Excel (order data by time, add "Line" to data series in scatter plot)
Examples: Driving Shifts into Reverse, Driving Safety, in Fits and Starts
Image created in Excel with data from Anscombe's quartet.
Tools: Excel
Image created in Excel with randomized data.
Tools: original Java code, Data Wrapper, d3/Protovis, HTML5/JavaScript, Python, Excel
Examples: The Ebb and Flow of Movies
Image created by code in d3 "examples/stream/" directory.c
(e.g., Thread Arcs, Shape of Song)
Tools: Protovis
Image created by sample Protovis code.
Image included in sample Excel spreadsheet.
Tools: JavaScript, d3 plugin
Image:
LHOON. (2006). Sankey diagram of thermodynamic steam cycle.
CC BY-SA 3.0
Tools: Alluvial Generator
Image: 
Rosvall, M., & Bergstrom, C. T. (2010). Mapping change in large networks. PLoS ONE, 5(1), e8694.
CC BY 2.5
Examples (category proportions, counts):
Tools: most statistical and charting software, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Tableau Public,
Image created in Excel with randomized data.
Tools: most statistical and charting software, Protovis, Many Eyes
Image:
Pyrsmis. (2008). Black cherry tree histogram.
CC BY-SA 3.0
Tools: Word Cloud, Many Eyes, d3
Image:
Pyrsmis. (2011). Word cloud comparison of two State of the Union speeches by two U.S. presidents.
CC BY-SA 3.0
Tutorial: Vallandingham, J. (2012). Building a bubble cloud.
Image created by code in d3 "examples/bubble/" directory.
Tools: most statistical and charting software, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Tableau Public, High Charts, Google Fusion Tables
Image created in Excel with data from Anscombe's quartet. 
Tools: d3/Protovis, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Network Workbench/Sci2
Image created by code in d3 "examples/treemap/" directory.
Examples (relationships between variables):
Tools: most statistical and charting software, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Tableau Public,
Image created in Excel with data from Anscombe's quartet.
Tools: Excel, d3, Gapminder, Google Charts, Tableau Public
Image:
Jung, J. (2009). Bubble Chart White.
CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Tools: most statistical and charting software, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Tableau Public, Google Fusion Tables
Tips: Aisch, G. (2012). Doing the line charts right.
Image:
Copley, Z. (2012). Annual Mean Temperature Charts.
CC BY-SA 2.0
Tools: most statistical and charting software, R, Excel, Protovis, Google Charts
Image:
Weld, W. E. (1959). How To Chart: Facts From Figures With Graphs. Norwood, MA: Codex Book Company, Inc.
CC-BY-SA-3.0
Tools: most statistical and charting software, Protovis, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Google Fusion Tables
Image: 
Grape City, Inc. (2009). Spread 5 for Windows Forms.
CC BY-SA 2.0
Tools: Excel (conditional formatting), d3 (calendar), Protovis 
Image created in Excel with data from Anscombe's quartet.
Image created by code in d3 "examples/parallel/" directory.
Tools: Excel
Image:
Jung, J. (2008). Radar Chart A White.
CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Tools: most statistical and charting software, Protovis, Google Charts
Image:
Schutz. (2006). Boxplot representing Michelson and Morley's data on the speed of light.
Public Domain
Tools: d3
Image created by code in d3 "examples/marimekko/" directory.
Tools: Excel
Image:
Hjohar. (2009). Example of waterfall chart.
Public Domain
Tools: R, Protovis, Many Eyes, Tableau Public
Tools: manual juxtaposition of charts from statistical and charting software, Tableau Public
Examples:
Tools: d3, Google Charts, Network Workbench/Sci2
Image:
Jung, J. (2008). 3-18 Issue Tree White.
CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Tools: Protovis
Image created by sample Protovis code.
Tools: d3/Protovis, Network Workbench/Sci2 
Image created by sample Protovis code.
Tools: d3
Image created by code in d3 "examples/cluster/" directory.
Tools: d3/Protovis, Many Eyes, Google Charts, Network Workbench/Sci2 
Image created by code in d3 "examples/treemap/" directory.
Image created by code in d3 "examples/partition/" directory.
Image created by code in d3 "examples/partition/" directory.
Examples:
Image created by sample Protovis code.
Tools: Pajek, Gephi, NodeXL, VOSviewer, UCINET, GUESS, Network Workbench/Sci2, sigma.js, d3/Protovis, Many Eyes, Google Fusion Tables
Image created by sample Protovis code.
Tools: d3, Network Workbench/Sci2
Image created by code in d3 "examples/bundle/" directory.
Tools: d3
Image created by code in d3 "examples/hive/" directory.
Tools: Alluvial Generator
Image:
Rosvall, M., & Bergstrom, C. T. (2010). Mapping change in large networks. PLoS ONE, 5(1), e8694.
CC BY 2.5
Tools: Subway map jQuery plugin
Image:
Jung, J. (2008). Yahoo YDN Metro Map White.
CC BY-NC-SA 2.0
Many thanks to Angela Zoss at the Duke University Libraries for allowing us to build off of and customize her Introduction to Data Visualization Research Guide.
