Criminology, Law & Society

Database of primary and secondary legal research materials that includes federal and state case law, court rules, statutory and regulatory materials, reference publications, and full text law journals.

The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe ...

"Free, independent and non-profit access to worldwide law"

"International and foreign law, including monographs on the laws of foreign jurisdictions. Primarily 19th and early 20th century. Also, several hundred classics in European international law since the 17th century. "International Law" constitutes the largest category in the archive. It corresponds mainly to the period of MoML: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, with classics since the seventeenth century, including Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, Wheaton, among many others. "Foreign Law" encompasses foreign legal treatises of a variety of countries. Because the term "treatise" is more of a common-law category, the equivalent works in civil-law systems may have other names such as commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften..."

"This first part of the collection includes regulations, session laws, journals, codes and commentaries of northern, central, and eastern European jurisdictions (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Great Britain, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland) with 50% of the collection in English. Sourced from the collections of the Yale, Harvard, and George Washington University Law Libraries."

Collection includes English Reports, Full Reprint (1220-1867) ; European Center for Minority Issues ; Foreign & International Law Resources Database ; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) ; Harvard Research in International Law ...

"As the world, in effect, grows smaller and as international trade and social, commercial and cultural exchange increases almost exponentially, lawyers and scholars in one jurisdiction or of one legal system must seek information from, or about, another. It will be the goal of this work to provide guidance, leading the researcher to the basic, current primary sources of legislation in non–United States jurisdictions; in addition we will indicate the availability of English translations or digests of particular laws as well as the existence of English-language introductions to the laws or legal system of these jurisdictions..."

"International Law plays a prominent role in the legal arena. Access to an online collection to assist in researching the evolution of this important area of law is essential. With HeinOnline’s FILRD, researchers are able to search or browse online through the treasures of some of the world’s best international law publications, from the in-depth coverage of publications of the American Society of International Law and prominent Yearbooks from around the world to the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series and the publications of dozens of other highly-respected publishers..."

The Index to Foreign legal periodicals is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide. Also analyzed are the contents of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congress reports. Covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia.

Law by source, Global. The LII collection of world legal materials gathers, country by country, continent by continent, the Internet-accessible sources of the constitutions, statutes, judicial opinions, and related legal material from around the globe (excluding the U.S. material held in the LII's other collections). It also holds resources and document collections of International law.

The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) | 1861-1865, Abraham Lincoln through 1977-1980, Jimmy Carter.
Prior to 1870, the series was published under various names. From 1870 to 1947, the uniform title Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States was used. From 1947 to 1969, the name was changed to Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers. After that date, the current name was adopted. Database volumes are organized by Presidential administration.

"LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital."

Justis is a full text online legal library of UK, Irish and EU case law dating back to 1163 and legislation from 1235. Databases available to subscribers include UK statutes, UK statutory instruments, English reports, Law reports, Weekly law reports, International law reports and others

HeinOnline researchers have access to more than 100,000 of the most important early English cases that laid the foundation for the laws of nations under the British Empire and influenced the development of laws across many lands!

The European Centre for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice and policy-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. It serves European governments and regional intergovernmental organizations as well as non-dominant groups throughout. The Centre co-operates with the academic community, the media and the general public through the timely provision of information and analysis.

Part I: International Yearbooks and Periodicals. Part II: U.S. Law Digests. Part III: International Tribunals / Judicial Decisions. Part IV: Other Significant Works Related to Foreign and International Law.

Prior to 1870, the series was published under various names. From 1870 to 1947, the uniform title Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States was used. From 1947 to 1969, the name was changed to Foreign Relations of the United States: Diplomatic Papers. After that date, the current name was adopted. The database volumes are organized by Presidential administration.

International & Non-U.S. Law Journals organized A-Z.

Israel Law Reports 1948-2006 Title Varies: Vols. 1-10 (1948-1993) as Selected Judgments of the Supreme Court of Israel. Israel Law Review Vols. 1-42#2 (1966-2009).

The Kluwer Library is comprised of twelve Kluwer Law
International journals to the HeinOnline database.

The history of Scots Law dating back to A.D. 1225 in an online digital format.access in an online searchable format that has never been available before. This library contains official publications from the Stair Society including the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series Vols. 1-53 (1936-2008), and the Supplementary Series Vols. 1-3.

HeinOnline has partnered with the Selden Society organization and the Ames Fo undation to bring early English manuscripts, yearbooks and more to the forefront, providing access to English and American legal history in an online searchable format that has never been available before!

Includes resources like Treaties and International Act Series (TIAS); U.S. Statutes at Large; KAV Agreements (Kavass); Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties (Kappler) ...

The Complete Collection of the United Nations Treaty Series 1946-Current. The Complete Collection of the League of Nations Treaty Series 1920-1946. Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements 1983-Current. International Court of Justice, Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders 1947-Current...

This collection will contain the current constitution of every country in the world in its original language. For countries where multiple original-language versions exist, we will provide each one. Also included will be at least one English translation. Since translations depend on and reveal the preferences of their makers and their time, HeinOnline is providing you with multiple vantage points. This is something you won't find anywhere else!

HeinOnline’s World Trials collection contains not only trial transcripts and other critical court documents, but also trial-related resources such as monographs which analyze and debate the decisions of famous trials. It also includesbiographies of many of the greatest trial lawyers in history. This collection delivers previously hard-to-obtain historical content to the desktops of researchers worldwide.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations (UN). It was established in June 1945 by the Charter of the United Nations and began work in April 1946. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). The Court’s role is to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States and to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.

The Court has a twofold role: to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States (Contentious cases ) and to give advisory opinions (Advisory proceedings) on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.

One of the main purposes of the UN is to bring about by peaceful means adjustment or settlement of international disputes. This is accomplished through the International Court of Justice, a principal organ of the UN. The following publications contain the reports of judgements passed, advisory opinions offered and orders by the ICJ with respect to cases brought before it by Member States and organs of the UN.

International Court of Justice Yearbook contains information about the basic texts governing the work of the Court, its members (with biographies), organization, jurisdiction, functioning, administration and finances in a given year. The texts of declarations recognizing the jurisdiction of the ICJ are reproduced in full; other relevant instruments are listed. Judgments and advisory opinions given during the course of the year are summarized.

"Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). The work was first published in 1903-04 by the U.S. Government Printing Office. Enhanced by the editors' use of margin notations and a comprehensive index, the information contained in Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties is in high demand by Native peoples, researchers, journalists, attorneys, legislators, teachers and others of both Native and non-Native origins."

The home index for the United Nations.

Global Policy Forum monitors policy making at the United Nations, promotes accountability of global decisions, educates and mobilizes for global citizen participation, and advocates on vital issues of international peace and justice.

An index to resources relevant to human rights.

With breaking news from the UN News Service.

The Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (UN Human Rights) is the leading UN entity on human rights. We represent the world's commitment to the promotion and protection of the full range of human rights and freedoms set out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Simply put: the World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the rules of trade between nations at a global or near-global level. But there is more to it than that.

This database provides access to the official documentation of the WTO, including the legal texts of the WTO agreements.

Information available on the WTO website, on issues handled by the WTO’s councils and committees and its trade agreements.

Hein online is a full text image-based searchable database of legal materials. It includes the Treaties and Agreements Library.

Treaties in Force is prepared by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State

Links to Status of Treaties, Depositary Notifications, Certified True Copies of Treaties, United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS), UN Legal Technical Assistance to States, Conventions on Terrorism ...

The University of Minnesota Human Rights Library houses one of the largest collections of more than sixty thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments...

There are few places on Earth where there has never been war, where the environment is fully protected, and where scientific research has priority. The whole of the Antarctic continent is like this.

The Basel Convention is the broadest and most significant international treaty on hazardous waste.

The Protocol seeks to protect biological diversity from the potential risks posed by living modified organisms resulting from modern biotechnology.

This pact among the vast majority of the world's governments sets out commitments for maintaining the world's ecological underpinnings as we go about the business of economic development.

CITES is an international agreement between governments. Its aim is to ensure that international trade in specimens of wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.

Desertification is the degradation of land in arid, semi-arid, and dry sub-humid areas.

ENTRI, a fast, convenient, comprehensive online service for accessing multilateral environmental treaty data. Find status data for environmental treaties, treaty text and other related information easily.

The Protocol is an international agreement linked to the UNFCCC. The major feature of the Kyoto Protocol is that it sets binding targets for 37 industrialized countries and the European community for reducing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions...

"The 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea provides, for the first time, a universal legal framework for the rational management of marine resources and their conservation for future generations. Rarely has such radical change been achieved

The oceans are the very foundation of human life...

Over a decade ago, most countries joined an international treaty -- the UNFCCC -- to begin to consider what can be done to reduce global warming and to cope with whatever temperature increases are inevitable...

The Convention Concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage is one of the most universal international legal instruments for the protection of the cultural and natural heritage.