"The Almanac of American Politics provides political operators with profiles of every member of Congress, and demographic and historical election data by state and congressional district. The digital edition also includes updated directories for all federal staff. Export full congressional and federal staff directories. Filter your searches by party affiliation, job title, agency, and appointment type to quickly find the information you need."
"Published and hand delivered every day that Congress is in session, NJ Daily is your source for everything happening on the Hill. Provides members with insider access to Congress , from in-depth policy coverage to profiles of key figures and power players on Capitol Hill. Delivered to the desks of all 535 congressional offices and top officials across the executive branch."
"National Journal’s Daybook keeps you informed about the most important events and hearings in Washington. Plan your week with the most comprehensive list of policy events happening in Washington. Search by topic, date, and location, then export the list to keep tabs on the events most relevant to you."
"Hotline’s Wake-Up Call and Latest Edition preview the day’s top stories and election updates. Washington’s most powerful political tracking tool provides you with unbeatable news on campaigns and predictive intelligence on elections. Wake-Up Call distills the morning’s key political headlines while Latest Edition assembles election and campaign news from across the country."
"Race Tracker is the go-to source for data on elections, campaigns, and candidates. A digital, interactive hub that encompasses every detail of each key race so you don’t have to search across multiple sources. Customizable dashboards allow you to quickly pull and download polling data, campaign contributions, issue ratings, and more."
"OECD iLibrary also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
OECD iLibrary presents all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters in any available format: PDF, WEB, XLS, DATA, ePUB, READ. "
Reporting since 1994 "on the intersection of politics and business, connecting Capitol Hill, K Street, Wall Street and Pennsylvania Avenue for non-partisan coverage of all factors in legislative decisions."
"The Source For News On Capitol Hill Since 1955 ... Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process ..."
"Mission: Inform, Empower & Advocate.
The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the organization aims to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government."
A bill is a legislative proposal brought before Congress in either the House or the Senate. Bills introduced in the House are assigned sequential numbers in the order in which they are introduced and are preceded by "H.R.". Bills introduced in the Senate are assigned sequential numbers preceded by "S.".
"This is GPO's beta website that will eventually replace the Federal Digital System (FDsys) public website. Being in beta means this site is a work in progress that we are sharing with you to get your feedback. Learn about the new site and what's available."
Overview of the Legislative Process: "Article I of the U.S. Constitution grants all legislative powers to a bicameral Congress: a House of Representatives and a Senate that are the result of a “Great Compromise” seeking to balance the effects of popular majorities with the interests of the states. Our system currently provides for a two-year term of office for House members from the 435 population-based districts. In the Senate, voters of each state elect two Senators, who serve 6-year terms that overlap (such that only one-third of the chamber is up for election in any given election cycle)..."
"The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990."
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) works for the United States Congress, providing policy and legal analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of party affiliation.
"The term think tank has been used to describe both private and public organizations that provide advice to governments. A generally accepted definition would describe think tanks as organizations that are distinct from government and whose objective is to provide advice on a diverse range of policy issues through the use of specialized knowledge and the activation of networks."
Ladi, S. (2011). Think tanks. In B. Badie, D. Berg-Schlosser, & L. Morlino (Eds.), International encyclopedia of political science. (pp. 2608-2611). Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412959636.n604
Policy Making Research Sites - A Selective Shortlist
"ProPublica is an independent, non-profit newsroom that produces investigative journalism in the public interest. Its work focuses exclusively on stories with moral force. We do this by producing journalism that shines a light on exploitation of the weak by the strong and on the failures of those with power to vindicate the trust placed in them."
The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank. We are dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research.
PAIS contains references to over 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey lit, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet resources.