Academic Search Complete is one database among many databases searchable from the EBSCOhost platform. ASC is "a scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,500 journals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study."
Big cross disciplinary databases are good places to start. * = UC Irvine access only.
Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in the scientific literature. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
"JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations."
PsycINFO contains over 2.6 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior, dating as far back as the 1800s. 98 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
Sociological Abstracts is one database among many databases searchable from the ProQuest platform. Sociological Abstracts "abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences."