Research Guides: Classics: Home

Contact your librarian

She/Her

Email Me

Subjects: Classics, German, History

New resource spotlight

New Resource for Classical Studies:

Very Short Introductions offers introductions to subjects such as Classical Studies, Egyptology, History, religion, and other Classical Studies adjacent subjects.

As of the Winter of 2019, UCI now has access to the Latin Poetry section of the Oxford Scholarly Editions Online.

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online - Latin Poetry
Search and compare full text versions of well known Latin Poetry using this tool

Welcome to the Classics research guide

Welcome to the Classics Research Guide.

This guide will serve as a starting point, highlighting the best picks for beginning your research.
Use the side navigation to search specific databases to find the types of resources you need.

Do you want additional support? Please email me at nsarnold@uci.edu for a Zoom or in-person appointment.

Key Resources

(Resources marked with * are UCI licensed resources and require use of the VPN if off campus.)

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization*
Provides a survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects drawn from the latest edition of the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature *
Gives accounts of the lives of many classical authors and character entries and plot summaries for their works. General entries trace the development of literary forms such as comedy and tragedy.
New Jacoby Online*
*3 simultaneous users allowed at a time - if turned away, try again in a few minutes*
New edition of the 856 fragmentary historians that comprise F. Jacoby's monumental Die Fragmente der griechischen Historiker Parts I-III, but with significant additions.
New Pauly Online *
Major reference work for Classics. Contains lengthy articles by specialists. Also in print in Langson Library Reference: DE 5 N813 2002 (English).
more...less...
Originally in German. Currently being translated into English.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) *
Based at UC Irvine, the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.All users must create a free account to access materials.

L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
This database is the online version of the highly specialized bibliographic listing called "Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique." It contains scholarly texts focused on Ancient Rome and Ancient Greece. Abstracts may be written in languages other than English.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
A fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and, those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Click "browse by subject" to view materials on the Classics and Medieval Studies.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive dictionary of ancient Latin containing lemmata from a to relinquo. It is compiled on the basis of all Latin texts surviving from antiquity (until AD 600), both literary and non-literary. It records all meanings (including technical usages) and all constructions, documents peculiarities of inflection, spelling, and prosody, and addresses etymology.
Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) This link opens in a new window
The BTL Online database provides electronic access to all editions of Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Teubneriana, ranging from antiquity and late antiquity to medieval and neo-Latin texts.