Celebrating One and All

Contains essays, ebooks, and liner notes related to blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel and other forms of Black American music expression.

This collection of films includes cutting-edge racial justice and diversity films that inspire, educate and engage audiences. Additionally, Black Studies in Video features access to the SNCC Legacy Video Collection, a series of formal addresses, panel discussions and programs that took place at a conference and reunion unfolding over four days at Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina, commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the founding of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee.

This original source material--written by African-Americans for African-Americans--contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s.

Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. This collection presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.

The Black Film Archive is a living register of Black films. In its current iteration, it showcases Black films made from 1915 to 1979 currently streaming.

Includes both historical and contemporary publications. California's first such newspaper was the Mirror of the Times, which began publishing in the mid-1850s

The Black Youth Project examines the attitudes, resources, and culture of the young, urban black millennial, exploring how these factors and others influence their decision-making, norms, and behavior in critical domains such as sex, health, and politics.

Moore became the first practicing African American physician in the city of Durham, North Carolina. He went on to establish the Durham Drug Company and the Durham Colored Library; spearhead and run Lincoln Hospital, the city's first secular, freestanding African American hospital; cofound North Carolina Mutual Life Insurance Company; help launch Rosenwald schools for African American children statewide; and foster the development of Durham's Hayti community. His legacy can still be seen on the city streets and country backroads today, and an examination of his life provides key insights into the history of Durham, the state, and the nation during Reconstruction and the beginning of the Jim Crow Era

This book captures the stories and mindsets of contemporary African Americans in their quest for the American dream.

This work considers the potential effects of slavery, racism, and white ignorance and oppression on the African American experience and conception of death and grief in America.

"This is the first full-length explicitly identified autoethnographic text on African American motherhood. It shows the lived experiences of Black motherhood, when mothering is shaped by race, gender and class, and mothers must navigate not only their own, but also their children's positions in society. Ferdinand takes an intimate look at her mothering strategies spanning ten years (from 2007-2017), preparing her daughter to traverse a racist and sexist society. It is a multi-generational text that blends the author's experience with that of her own mother, grandmother, and her daughter, to engage in a larger discussion of African American/Black mother/womanhood. It is grounded within Black Feminist Theory, which centers the experiences of Black women within the domains of intersecting oppressions..."

The compassionate, inspiring memoir of the former First Lady detailing her life as the first African American family to occupy the White House and her story about what influenced her growing up.

This volume considers how individuals' educational background, their personal experiences, and their relationship with African-American theism have impacted on their efforts to understand and manage the chronic disease of Diabetes, so common among African Americans.

The artists featured in The Black Index—Dennis Delgado, Alicia Henry, Kenyatta A.C. Hinkle, Titus Kaphar, Whitfield Lovell, and Lava Thomas—build upon the tradition of Black self-representation as an antidote to colonialist images. Their translations of photography challenge the medium’s long-assumed qualities of objectivity, legibility and identification. Edited with exhibit curated by UCI faculty, Prof. Bridget R. Cooks containing an essay by the late doctoral student in Visual Studies, Ella Turenne.

From the most avant-garde jazz musicians, visual artists and poets to architects, philosophers and writers, Black Ivy: A Revolt in Style charts a period in American history when Black men across the country adopted the clothing of a privileged elite and made it their own. It shows how a generation of men took the classic Ivy Look and made it cool, edgy and unpredictable in ways that continue to influence today's modern menswear.

This important and very timely book provides a critical look at the role of music in teaching about the Black Lives Matter movement and the importance of promoting social equality via fieldwork from the perspectives of scholars of color.

A highly illustrated mini-encyclopedia that demonstrates how much Black inventors and creators have given to modern society.

Creates a new framework for approaching Black women's wellness by merging theory and practice with both personal narratives and public policy.

Examines how Black women elders have managed stress, emphasizing how self-care practices have been present since at least the mid-nineteenth century, with roots in African traditions.

Chronicles the struggle by African Americans and their white allies to improve poor black health conditions as well as inadequate medical care-caused by slavery, racism, and discrimination-since the arrival of African slaves in America.

In the early 1960s, the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater was a small, multi-racial company of dancers that performed the works of its founding choreographer and other emerging artists. By the late 1960s, the company had become a well-known African American artistic group closely tied to the civil rights struggle. This book chronicles the troupe's journey from a small modern dance company to one of the premier institutions of African American culture.

This book explores and brings a deep understanding of the legacy of racial trauma, and the cultural strengths of African American couples by using real-life case studies...

A rich, authentic account of eight young Black men's experiences on their paths to and through college

There is an obesity epidemic in this country and poor black women are particularly stigmatized as “diseased” and a burden on the public health care system.

At the intersection of work, race, gender, and class, Wingfield makes plain the harrowing challenges that black employees must overcome and reveals the complicated issues of inequality in today's workplaces and communities.

An assemblage of ninety brilliant writers, each of whom takes on a five-year period of that four-hundred-year span. The writers explore their periods through a variety of techniques: historical essays, short stories, personal vignettes, and fiery polemics. They approach history from various perspectives: through the eyes of towering historical icons or the untold stories of ordinary people; through places, laws, and objects.

This volume explores factors that have contributed to health disparities among racial, ethnic, and sexual minorities. Focused on developing strategies for understanding these disparities and promoting wellness in minority communities, the authors highlight social forces such as racism, ethnocentrism, sexism, and homophobia, which continue to influence not only access to and quality of care but also perception and trust of health care professionals.

"Heavy seeks to bring what has been hidden into the light and to reckon with all of its myriad sources, from the most intimate--a mother-child relationship--to the most universal--a society that has undervalued and abused black bodies for centuries."

This story a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as 'human computers' used pencils, slide rules and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would launch rockets, and astronauts, into space. Among these problem-solvers were a group of exceptionally talented African American women, some of the brightest minds of their generation. Originally relegated to teaching math in the South's segregated public schools, they were called into service during the labor shortages of World War II, when America's aeronautics industry was in dire need of talent.

discusses the many ways to prevent, identify and control hypertension in African Americans, a common and potent risk factor for virtually all forms of cardiovascular-renal diseases

Unlike other works on health disparities it integrates social science, public health, and the humanities to better understand why Black women do not receive the standard of care at the doctor.

An autobiographical graphic novel about the life, career, and success of African American performer Josephine Baker, one of the first worldwide celebrities.

Spanning the era from the Great Migration to the Great Recession, this book uncovers the roots of the Black-white wealth gap, the subprime lending crisis, and today's lack of affordable housing in maps created by banks nearly a century ago. Most of all, it offers hope that with the latest scholarly tools we can pinpoint how things went wrong--and what we must do to make them right.

Lucean Arthur Headen (1879-1957) grew up amid former slave artisans. Inspired by his grandfather, a wheelwright, and great-uncle, a toolmaker, he dreamed as a child of becoming an inventor. His ambitions suffered the menace of Jim Crow and the reality of a new inventive landscape in which investment was shifting from lone inventors to the new 'industrial scientists.' But determined and ambitious, Headen left the South, and after toiling for a decade as a Pullman porter, risked everything to pursue his dream. He eventually earned eleven patents, most for innovative engine designs and anti-icing methods for aircraft.

An autobiographical graphic novel trilogy about the Civil Rights Movement told from the perspective of the late US Congressman and Civil Rights leader.

The first comprehensive history of medical experimentation on African Americans. It shows how the pseudoscience of eugenics and social Darwinism was used to justify experimental exploitation and shoddy medical treatment of blacks, and a view that they were biologically inferior, oversexed, and unfit for adult responsibilities. New details about the government's Tuskegee experiment are revealed, as are similar, less well-known medical atrocities conducted by the government, the armed forces, and private institutions. This book reveals the hidden underbelly of scientific research and makes possible, for the first time, an understanding of the roots of the African American health deficit.

Revealing and panoramic, The Merchant Prince of Black Chicago weaves the fascinating life story of an African American trailblazer through the eventful history of his times.

This graphic novel format depicts the life of Nat Turner, the self-educated African American preacher who led a slave revolt in Southampton County, Virginia, in 1831, believing that God wanted him to free the enslaved.

This analysis of Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness is an unflinching dissection of the racial biases built into the American prison system. Named after the laws that enforced racial segregation in the southern United States until the mid-1960s, The New Jim Crow argues that while America is now legally a colorblind society - treating all races equally under the law - many factors combine to build profound racial weighting into the legal system with serious commentary about Alexander's important work.

From the moment of their unveiling at the National Portrait Gallery in early 2018, the portraits of Barack and Michelle Obama have become two of the most beloved artworks of our time. Kehinde Wiley's portrait of President Obama and Amy Sherald's portrait of the former first lady have inspired unprecedented responses from the public, and attendance at the museum has more than doubled as visitors travel from near and far to view these larger-than-life paintings.

Despite the widespread acknowledgement of the existence of health disparities among racial/ethnic groups, the overall outcomes for African Americans are still the most shocking. From high infant mortality to death by almost any cause, African Americans have the worst data of any other racial or ethnic group. Patient-Centered Clinical Care for African Americans, a highly practical and first-of-its-kind title, illuminates these alarming issues and represents a major contribution to the clinical literature. It will be of significant interest to all physicians, clinicians, and allied health personnel.

Black women have higher rates of premature birth than other women in America. This cannot be simply explained by economic factors, with poorer women lacking resources or access to care.

An impressive and comprehensive reference work for contemporary scholarship on the cultural histories of Black women across the diaspora spanning different eras from ancient times into the twenty-first century.

Run is the sequel to March, the autobiographical graphic novel trilogy about the Civil Rights Movement told from the perspective of the late US Congressman and Civil Rights leader.

Each chapter demonstrate effective examples of social justice design and implementation in LIS to generate meaningful outcomes across local, regional, national, and international settings. Including reflections on challenges and opportunities in academic, public, school, and special libraries, museums, archives, and other information-related settings, the contributions present forward-looking strategies that transcend historical and outdated notions of neutral stance and passive bystanders.

In the period of radical change that was 1963–83, young black artists at the beginning of their careers confronted difficult questions about art, politics and racial identity. How to make art that would stand as innovative, original, formally and materially complex, while also making work that reflected their concerns and experience as black Americans? Soul of a Nation surveys this crucial period in American art history, bringing to light previously neglected histories of 20th-century black artists.

As Whitehead brilliantly re-creates the unique terrors for black people in the pre-Civil War era, his narrative seamlessly weaves the saga of America from the brutal importation of Africans to the unfulfilled promises of the present day. The Underground Railroad is at once a kinetic adventure tale of one woman's ferocious will to escape the horrors of bondage and a shattering, powerful meditation on the history we all share. Has become a television series.

This short and accessible book is ideal for qualitative researchers, graduate students, and feminist scholars interested in the various dimensions of racialization, coloniality, language, and migration.

"...By jumbling the literary formulas of the detective novel, the heroic folktale, the coming-of-age story, the zombie apocalypse, and the slave narrative, Whitehead reveals the flaws and shortcomings of many of the long-lasting stories through which Americans have defined themselves. Some of the stories Whitehead focuses on are explicitly literary in nature, but he more frequently directs his attention toward the historical and cultural processes that influence how race, class, gender, education, social status, and other categories of identity determine what an individual supposedly can and cannot do."

This remarkable collection drawn from the Schomberg Research materials collects narratives, from firsthand accounts to published speeches to court proceedings, of Black people becoming the agents of their own lives and liberation in the 19th century.

Thia book offers a sweeping history of African American women's political lives in America, recounting how they fought for, won, and used the right to the ballot and how they fought against both racism and sexism.

This book chronicles one of the great untold stories of American history: the decades-long migration of black citizens who fled the South for northern and western cities, in search of a better life. From 1915 to 1970, this exodus of almost six million people changed the face of America.

This collection of essays on Black shame and healing (and contribute their own introductions to the work). Along with the anthology contributors, they create a space to recognize and process the trauma of white supremacy, a space to be vulnerable and affirm the fullness of Black love and Black life.

This book surveys the work of a new generation of Black artists, and also features the voices of a diverse group of curators who are on the cutting edge of contemporary art.

A brief history of African American’s Civil Rights Movement written in Chinese by members of People’s Liberation Army of China

The authors reflect upon Japan-US relationship through looking at American Americans in the United States.

This photo album provides a close look at African American arts at Harlem, a neighborhood in Upper Manhattan, New York City, in the lens of Ruiko Yoshida, a Japanese photojournalist.

Chinese translation of Booker T. Washington’s autobiography – Up from Slavery

This book, authored by a faculty at Seoul National University, introduced to Korean readers 100 historical moments in the United States, including changing lives of American Americans.

Despite the fact that most of jazz's major innovators and performers have been African American, the overwhelming majority of jazz journalists, critics, and authors have been and continue to be white men. No major mainstream jazz publication has ever had a Black editor or publisher. Ain't But a Few of Us presents over two dozen candid dialogues with Black jazz critics and journalists who discuss the obstacles to access for Black jazz journalists, outline how they contend with the world of jazz writing dominated by white men, and point out that these racial disparities are not confined to jazz and hamper their efforts at writing about other music genres as well. Impressive list of contributors.

Variety interview and feature about changes in the animation industry.

The structure of the African American family has been a recurring theme in American discourse on the African American community. The role of African American mothers especially has been the cause of heated debates since the time of Reconstruction in the 19th century. The discourse, which often saw the African American family as something that needed fixing, also put the issue of women's reproductive rights on the political agenda from the 1920s to the early 1990s.

This is the first full-length explicitly identified autoethnographic text on African American motherhood. It shows the lived experiences of Black motherhood, when mothering is shaped by race, gender, and class, and mothers must navigate not only their own, but also their children's positions in society.

Black ballerina Misty Copeland is profiled in this documentary, which explores her career, her recovery from a serious injury and the lack of diversity in the world of dance.

A major collection of criticism on Black American cinema. From the pioneering work of Oscar Micheaux and Wallace Thurman to the Hollywood success of Spike Lee, Black American filmmakers have played a remarkable role in the development of the American film, both independent and mainstream.

Two pioneering African American physicians in the early 20th century who led the care for their communities and left modern medicine having made numerous valuable contributions to the profession and society at large.

In this 1981 episode of Tony Brown's Journal, Brown discusses Black students with child development expert Evelyn Moore, student Daniel Harris, and teacher William Ryan.

Focusing on a much-neglected area of film experience in America, Black Cinema Treasures furthers the preservation of America’s cultural and historic heritage, especially its African-American heritage as seen through the eyes of the African-American independent filmmakers of the 1920s through the 1950s.

Reviews black masculinity and the intersections with both mental and physical health.

A superhero known as Black Panther defends Wakanda, a technologically advanced country in Africa that has hidden itself away from the rest of the world. Now, he must face a dissident who wants to sell the country's natural resources to fund an uprising.

The book will introduce a new generation to the legacy of Black power. Includes new commentary by Erykah Badu, Talib Kweli, Harry Belafonte, Kathleen Cleaver, Angela Davis, Robin Kelley, Abiodun Oyewole, Sonia Sanchez, Bobby Seale, and Questlove; 'Addressing what might be thought of as standard historical and contemporary subjects with startlingly radical means, Göran Hugo Olsson's Black Power Mixtape : 1967-1975 is a collage of archival footage recorded in America, mostly by Swedish journalists, in the era of African American militancy.

This book examines how contemporary African American theater institutions reflect and shape the histories and cultural realities of their cities, with a focus on the arts ecologies in four American cities: Cleveland, Pittsburgh, San Francisco, and Atlanta.

Through a trove of archival material, evocative works of contemporary art, and interviews with Oprah Winfrey, Angela Davis, and Morrison herself, we revisit her famed books and learn about the inspiration for her writing. Throughout, Morrison is effortlessly graceful, insightful, and candid, making this intimate, comprehensive portrait of her life and works an exploration of what it means to be a writer whose stories are so deeply intertwined with often-unrealized national truths.

This film educates, informs, and examines more than 150 years of African American men and women who have embodied the qualities that are the heart of the American entrepreneurial spirit.

This book examines Afrofuturism in African American art, focusing specifically on images of black women and how those images expand the discourse of representation in visual culture of the United States. This volume defines a visual language of Afrofuturism that includes materiality, temporality, and black liberation.

Working with African American men requires therapists to look beyond symptoms in order to truly appreciate what it's like to live in a racialized society. In this powerful video the challenges and historical considerations unique to this population are explored and discover how to use this knowledge to develop a strong working alliance and create a safe space for African American clients.

This panel discussion, directed by Bob Morris, discusses the medical community regarding AIDS, and features Dr. William O'Conner, author of AIDS: The Alarming Reality and Gus Sermos, a former public health adviser from the Atlanta CDC. In Tony Brown's Journal.

From King Kong to Candyman, the boundary-pushing genre of horror film has always been a site for provocative explorations of race in American popular culture. This book offers a comprehensive chronological survey of Black horror from the 1890s to present day and expands upon the history of notable characterizations of Blackness in horror cinema, with new chapters spanning the 1960s, 2000s, and 2010s to the present, examining key levels of Black participation on screen and behind the camera. The book addresses a full range of Black horror films, including mainstream Hollywood fare, art-house films, Blaxploitation films, and U.S. hip-hop culture-inspired Nollywood films while exploring the resurgence of the Black horror genre in the last decade, examining the success of Jordan Peele's films Get Out (2017) and Us (2019), smaller independent films such as The House Invictus (2018), and Nia DaCosta's sequel to Candyman (2021). Author argues that horror offers a unique representational space for Black people to challenge negative or racist portrayals, and to portray greater diversity within the concept of Blackness itself.

The group of Black filmmakers that have come to be known as the L.A. Rebellion created a watershed body of work that strives to perform the revolutionary act of humanizing Black people on screen. The filmmakers in this group met as students in film school at the University of California, Los Angeles, between the late 1960s and the mid-1980s.

This book includes discussions of traditional and non-traditional topics regarding linguistic explorations of African American communities that include difficult conversations around race and racism and offers an introduction to the sociolinguistic and paralinguistic aspects of language use in African American communities; sociocultural and historical contexts and development; notions about grammar and discourse; the significance of naming and the pall of race and racism in discussions and research of language variation and change.

Revered in South Africa as "An African American Mother of the Nation," Madie Beatrice Hall Xuma spent her extraordinary life immersed in global women's activism. Wanda A. Hendricks's biography follows Hall Xuma from her upbringing in the Jim Crow South to her leadership role in the African National Congress (ANC) and beyond. Hall Xuma was already known for her social welfare work when she married South African physician and ANC activist Alfred Bitini Xuma. Becoming president of the ANC Women's League put Hall Xuma at the forefront of fighting racial discrimination as South Africa moved toward apartheid. Hendricks provides the long-overlooked context for the events that undergirded Hall Xuma's life and work. As she shows, a confluence of history, ideas, and organizations both shaped Hall Xuma and centered her in the histories of Black women and women's activism, and of South Africa and the United States.

This 1993 episode of Tony Brown's Journal is an interview with Peter Buxtun about the Tuskeegee Syphilis Experiment.

black hospital. Funding was cut off soon thereafter, but money was made available to study the effects of untreated syphilis in black men to determine if blacks and whites were similarly affected by the disease and is the theme of this feature film.

MOONLIGHT is the tender, heartbreaking story of a young man’s struggle to find himself, told across three defining chapters in his life as he experiences the ecstasy, pain, and beauty of falling in love, while grappling with his own sexuality.

Musical Matters explores inclusivity and representation in American musical theatre with artists from historically marginalized communities.

This play uncovers the prejudice faced by Black youths in the American education system.

The Routledge Atlas of African American History traces the epic journey of African Americans' four hundred years in North America. With more than 75 full-color maps, charts, and illustrations, this volume illuminates the myriad of contributions from Black Americans to the nation's political, economic, cultural, and social history. The sweeping story begins with the African roots of Black America and moves through important developments such as the Underground Railroad, Emancipation and the Civil War, African Americas in the U.S. Armed Forces, the spread of Jim Crow Laws, the long Civil Rights Movement, Black Seminoles, the National Women's Club Movement, Black political realignment and the rise of Barack Obama, and Black Lives Matter protests.

This documentary explores the passionate pursuits of Black women entrepreneurs. SHE DID THAT offers a peek inside the lives of Black women committed to opening doors for future generations.

Description
An intimate portrait of Port Arthur, Texas, a low-income community populated by African Americans battling not only the health effects of environmental pollution, but the corporate powers that deny their responsibility.

Learn about the successes of Black entrepreneurs through a collection of unique case studies. This is an insightful collection Harvard Business School case studies about Black entrepreneurs succeeding in a variety of industries and through different routes, including start-ups, franchising, and acquisitions. The book recognizes & celebrates Black entrepreneurial excellence, as it takes the reader through the stages of entrepreneurship, including ideation, raising capital, growing the company, and taking it public. In addition to identifying the positive aspects of Black entrepreneurship, the book also uses data, research, and anecdotes to highlight the challenges faced by Black entrepreneurs.

This educational training aims to raise awareness and understanding of suicidal behavior among African American adolescents (ages 14-24 years), as well as to provide individuals with strategies and resources to appropriately intervene with a young person considering suicide.

Through a trove of archival material, evocative works of contemporary art, and interviews with Oprah Winfrey, Angela Davis, and Morrison herself, we revisit her famed books and learn about the inspiration for her writing. Throughout, Morrison is effortlessly graceful, insightful, and candid, making this intimate, comprehensive portrait of her life and works an exploration of what it means to be a writer whose stories are so deeply intertwined with often-unrealized national truths.

The untold story of a dynamic student movement on one of the nation’s most important historically Black campusesThe Tuskegee Institute, one of the nation’s most important historically Black colleges, is primarily known for its World War II pilot training program, a fateful syphilis experiment, and the work of its founder, Booker T. Washington. In The Tuskegee Student Uprising, Brian Jones explores an important yet understudied aspect of the campus’s history: its radical student activism.