Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Public Health 2: Case Studies in Public Health Practice: Conducting Research - Finding Books & eBooks


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/PH2-CaseStudies

Reference Sources

There are many different types of Reference tools to help you define terms, provide data, contextualize issues, lead you to maps and locations of specific points you are researching, etc.  Please consult those listed on the Subject Guide for Public Health on the Subjects tab, under Demography.

Finding Books

FINDING BOOKS:

  • Online Catalogs:
    • Library Search – UC Irvine Libraries holdings (Langson Library – LL), Science Library (SL), and Grunigen Medical Library (GML) - note format - can search by keyword; records at source level
    •  
    • MELVYL  – This new MELVYL is more of a discovery tool as it shows output for not only books and journal titles, but for book chapters, journal articles, media, and other formats and entries. The default is the University of California Libraries but users can also choose to use the "Chat with a Libraries" service in this connection. Users can also search Library Worldwide holdings since MELVYL is powered by WorldCat. For assistance in how to optimize MELVYL, please consult the following guide for MELVYL at
      http://www.cdlib.org/services/info_services/instruct/Melvyl_Quick_Reference.pdf 
    • UC eLinks and Request functions can be used to determine holdings and make ILL requests.
    •  
    •  
  •           WorldCat - Global library holdings with links to UCI holdings
  • Library of Congress Subject Headings – the authority that offers the structured vocabulary for relevant output for searching Library Search & Melvyl by Subject Headings. Keyword searching may retrieve more output but may not be as relevant. Keyword also searches the author, title, source fields and elements in an abstract when searching in a database, as well as the Subject Headings.  One easy way to establish the Subject Headings is to search Library Search by Subject (use pull-down tabs) and then when you find a relevant book, scroll down to the list of subject headings and click on one of them and other books in the collection will be retrieved.  Corresponding classification schemes mapped to call numbers are found in this outline.

E-Books - there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access. The next box identifies some of the collections we have that may be relevant to support your reading and research in public health and related subjects.

eBook Collections

FINDING BOOKS and EBOOKS:  Regardless of the format in print or eBooks, you will search Library Holdings in Catalogs such as those mentioned in the previous box that notes the Online Public Access Catalogs (opacs) and by collections, and by individual titles or authors to locate specific books.  Some collections are publisher specific and are noted below.

E-Books - as noted there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access and most can be read, downloaded and copied at the chapter level. They are all listed in Library Search and MELVYL, by individual title and by series. There are many collections of such resources and the collections can be searched collectively.

These eBook collections from CABI and other publishers and information providers reflect a range of titles in all areas of public health, agriculture, applied life sciences, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, tourism, demographics and a range of social issues.