Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!
Easily create bibliographies with Bibliographic Management Software (BMS). BMS enables researchers to collect and manage references to books, journal articles, conference proceedings, etc; format them according to precise styles (e.g., MLA, APA, Turabian,
EndNote and EndNote Basic are different bibliographic management software products but allow for developing bibliographies and organizing citations. Please click on the tabs and see which product best meets your needs.
A quick resource for citing references in papers using the 5th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2001). Provided by The Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Prepared for and preferred by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) using the Chicago Manual of Style. Citation examples listed from pages 10-14. Also recommend consulting the Chicago Manual of Style Online.
This classic work by William Strunk is intended for use in which the practice of composition is combined with the study of literature. It gives the main requirements of plain English style and concentrates on the rules of usage most often abused.
Easy-to-use site that provides information and examples for using the American Psychological Association (APA) citation and format style and the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. Also included information about the Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.)
• American Heritage Book of English Usage
• American Heritage Dictionary, 4th ed.
• Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
• Columbia Encyclopedia, 6th ed.
• Roget's II: The New Thesaurus
• Simpson's Contemporary Quotations
• Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary
• Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary via Encyclopedia Britannica
• Merriam-Webster Thesaurus
"It aims to show not only the current meanings of words, but also to trace their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world, making the OED a unique historical record."