Quick Reference Guide

The World of Math Online.

This site boasts that one can "convert just about anything to anything else." And with fifty thousand conversions and five thousand units, it has an impressive range.

Bureau of Land management site with a variety of learning opportunities and information, including information to use in lesson plans, electronic field trips, and professional development activities for educators.

This 20th edition of Gray's Anatomy offers skeletal outline and description of the human body.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration's report and guidelines published every 5 years, plus a variety of other documents and resources on nutrition and health. On this page you can link to the most current edition, or view earlier editions of the Guidelines.

Sponsored by the American Dietetic Association. Offers extensive resources under "Food & Nutrition Information."

From the American Academy of Family Physicians

From the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S. Department

Service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institute of Health.

Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries

Information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications through two drug resources -- MedMaster™, a product of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), and the USP DI® Advice for the Patient®.a product of the United

From the US Department of Agriculture, MyPlate provides practical information to individuals, health professionals, nutrition educators, and the food industry to help consumers build healthier diets with resources and tools for dietary assessment, nutrition education, and other user-friendly nutrition information.

A guide offering easy access to all government web sites with reliable and accurate information on nutrition and dietary guidance.

Drawing on the trusted "Physician's Desk Reference (published annually by Thomas Reuters), this site provides information for prescriptions drugs, over-the-counter medications, and herbals and supplements.

PubChem is a search tool for chemical information, divided into three areas: Compunds, Substances, and BioAssays.

Contains consumer information about nutrition, obesity, and weight control. Offers sample menus, including ones before and after your workouts.

Profiles of several dozen foods. Detailed nutritional information is provided for each food. Browsable by category (such as vegetables and grains).

Deep web database with content from 12 federal science agencies - from Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Defense, Education, Energy, Health and Human Services, the Interior, the Environmental Protection Agency, the Government Printing Office, the Nati

Local listing of the OC Science Cafe events, of which UCI is heavily invested. Always free but usually requires advance registration on the website for at least monthly events. Website should be visited often unless one registers and gets eMail updates.

This page links to quick searching, advanced searching, and number searching, as well as information about how to view images. There are also links to help files.

From the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), the PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication. The information may be searched by entering keywords, names of applicants, international patent classification and many other search criteria in multiple languages.

Botanicalls allows plants to place phone calls for human help. New resource for plant survival help!

Books published by CRC Press on Food Science. Entire collection can be searched or one can browse a topical area or search and read a specific book. All books are also listed in Library Search.

This section on Knovel has many books and resources, including the Food Chemicals Codex, Food Additives Databook, etc. Each title is also listed in Library Search..

Results in strategic security w/ research and education projects in nuclear arms control & global security; conventional arms transfers; proliferation of weapons of mass destruction; information technology for human health; & government info policy.

This is the one of the largest suppliers of international standards. UCI users should consult with reference librarians prior to ordering to ensure that is the only source of the standard.

Also known as Reinvention Collaborative. "The Reinvention Center is a national consortium of research universities dedicated to strengthening undergraduate education."

Physical and chemical properties data.

From the Royal Society of Chemistry', this is an interactive periodic table that features "history, alchemy, podcasts, videos, and data trends across the periodic table. Click the tabs at the top to explore each section. Use the buttons above to change your view of the periodic table and view Murray Robertson’s stunning Visual Elements artwork. Click each element to read detailed information."

Call number: Periodic table of the elements and their properties

EPA's air quality index shows reading by zipcode.