Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!
2008 edition. Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions, translating them into their full names or meanings. Terms from subject areas such as associations, education, the Internet, medicine and others are included.
The Acronym Finder is a searchable database of more than 287,000 abbreviations and acronyms covering many disciplines. Its strengths include computer, technology, telecommunication, and military acronyms and abbreviations.
Part of the NationalJournal site. Politics and demographics of U.S. states. Online edition is kept up to date with special and interim elections, important committee changes, election forecasts, primary results and more.
Offers a collection of quotation sites like Quoteland, Quoteworld, The Quotations Page, Bartlett’s Familiar, and Creative Quotations. Also features sites by quotation topics such as movie quotes, Bible quotes, and scientific quotes.
Features an extensive collection of quotes by women famous in various fields of art, drama, music, science, literature, law, social sciences, and academia. Also provides biographies or links to additional information about some of the featured women.
Statistical, demographic and political data on countries and territories around the world: generates tables and charts for individual country profiles as well as comparisons. Data from U.S. and international agencies; every statistic is documented.
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more. Information presented is from the U.S. Census Bureau and includes estimates of population, breakdown by gender and race, population density, and some economic statistics.