U.S. Government Information

Congress.gov is the Library of Congress' search platform for bills and other congressional records. (Replaces Thomas.gov).

All federal congressional documents from the birth of the United States Congress to the present are now searchable full text on a single research platform at UCI.

"The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 53 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. The U.S. Code was first published in 1926. The next main edition was published in 1934, and subsequent main editions have been published every six years since 1934. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information."

"The U.S. Code collection homepage features the ability to browse content by editions or by titles, a prominent citation locator, historical supporting documents such as Early Federal Codes and Compilations of Statutes, and external links to other versions of the U.S. Code as well as information about this history of this publication"

This version is generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives. The date of any text appearing on this site appears in italics at the upper right in every Code section.

This file contains the statutory code for the United States of America as published in the compilation entitled United States Code Service. It includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the United States Congress. The USCS database contains documents from the United States Constitution and titles of the United States Code Service, and includes court rules, Federal Sentencing Guidelines, certain sections from the Code of Federal Regulations, and appendices.

United States Code Annotated has all 50 titles and includes the Constitution, court rules and appendixes. Annotated materials include notes of decisions, cross references, research references, and more. The USCA database contains documents from the United States Constitution and titles of the United States Code Annotated, and includes court rules, Federal Sentencing Guidelines, certain sections from the Code of Federal Regulations, and appendices. A document is an annotated section of the United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.). Provisions from Public Laws classified as notes in the United States Code database can be found under the corresponding section of United States Code Annotated. Ongoing updates from the 111th Congress, First Session, are incorporated into the affected titles of the United States Code Annotated.

Reporting since 1994 "on the intersection of politics and business, connecting Capitol Hill, K Street, Wall Street and Pennsylvania Avenue for non-partisan coverage of all factors in legislative decisions."

"The Source For News On Capitol Hill Since 1955 ... Roll Call provides essential intelligence and grassroots advocacy resources. As the premier source of timely news, objective facts and analysis, and coverage of elections and the politics of legislation, we keep our fingers on the pulse of the legislative process ..."

Public and private laws are also known as slip laws. A slip law is an official publication of the law and is competent evidence admissible in all state and Federal courts and tribunals of the United States. Public laws affect society as a whole, while private laws affect an individual, family, or small group.

After the President signs a bill into law, it is delivered to the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) where it is assigned a law number, legal statutory citation (public laws only), and prepared for publication as a slip law. Private laws receive their legal statutory citations when they are published in the United States Statutes at Large.

The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress.

This HeinOnline database contains all of the U.S. Statutes at Large from 1789 to ;atest official volume. The U.S. Statutes at Large (Statutes at Large) is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress.

The United States Statutes at Large, commonly referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the official source for the laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Publication began in 1845 by the private firm of Little, Brown and Company under authority granted by a joint resolution of Congress.

Law Library Microform Consortium Digital (LLMC) - U.S. Federal Government Collection, Legislative.