DPDS Social Sciences Workshop Resources

Watch the workshop zoom video demonstration on navigating RStudio, interacting with R, manage the R environment, and install packages. Video length is 14 minutes 28 seconds.

Watch the workshop zoom video demonstration on organizing your working directory Video length is 13 minutes 26 seconds.

Register for the Social Science Workshop to gain hands-on experience and practice section objectives.

Workshop guide provided by Data Carpentry that explains the purpose of R and RStudio, and provides guidance on setting up in R and RStudio, including creating a new project, using the RStudio interface, organizing your work directory, downloading data, interacting with R, and installing additional packages using both the packages tab and R code.

Explains navigating the user interface and appearance, managing R and R packages, authoring code or text editing, debugging and diagnostics, using the Visual Editor for Quarto and RMarkdown, reading in data from local and remote sources, and integrations with version control systems and the terminal.

Explains the Console in RStudio including code completion, retrieving previous commands, using the console title bar, and helpful keyboard shortcuts.

Access a collection of R code snippets and instructions for coding in R. Includes guides for R basics, transforming tables, visualizing data, working with date-time data, working with factors and strings, modeling data, and polishing figures and tables for display and publication.

Provides support for using RStudio projects including creating a project, opening and quitting a project, and project options.

Explains the default working directory, changing the default working directory, loading and saving workspaces, and handling of .Rhistory.

Provides a quick reference to navigating source editor, tab panes, version control, keyboard shortcuts, visual editor, share projects, and more.

Access resources created by the RStudio team for various learning levels. Includes a blog, cheatsheets, recommended books, and tutorials.

View announcements, discussions, conference and events related to programming in R. Includes information about tidyverse, programming in Shiny, creating and serving Quarto and R Markdown documents, and RStudio IDE.

View community discussions and support related to programming in R.

Duke Center for Computational Thinking provides a tutorial on installing R packages. Video length is 6 minutes and 59 seconds.

Duke Center for Computational Thinking provides a tutorial on getting started in the RStudio programming environment. Video length is 5 minutes and 8 seconds.

Duke Center for Computational Thinking provides a tutorial on cheatsheets, stack overflow, and the help function. Video length is 3 minutes and 56 seconds.

Duke Center for Computational Thinking provides a tutorial on navigating the environment page, opening a new R script, and using the help pane. Video length is 7 minutes and 52 seconds.

Equitable Equations provides a tutorial on creating a new project in RStudio. Video length is 3 minutes and 14 seconds.