African American Studies

A collection of seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.

The HistoryMakers is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. It provides a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is large and has a varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.

kweliTV is a streaming platform that celebrates the global Black experience through curated indie films, documentaries, web shows, and more, representing the entire African diaspora (North America, Africa, Latin America, Europe, the Caribbean, and even Australia and some parts of Asia).

Provides access to streaming videos in a variety of subject areas, including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. This database includes films, documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage.

A portal for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. Search or browse by subject.

A collection of award-winning documentaries with relevance across disciplines - race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions worldwide.

Kanopy provides access to contemporary and classic feature films and documentaries, from the major Hollywood studios as well as independent and international filmmakers.

A collection of the 500 most requested Hollywood and feature films of all time.