Research Guides: Laboratory for Creative Collaboration (LCC): Theme: Masks, Puppets, and Objects

Bunraku (Japan)

Read

"Bunraku" encyclopedia article
A brief article by C. Andrew Gerstle in the Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance. Go down the rabbit hole and explore related articles in this encyclopedia using the links on the left of the page.
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre
This ebook is the only dictionary that offers detailed comprehensive coverage of the most important terms, people, and plays in the four principal traditional Japanese theatrical forms--nō, kyōgen, bunraku, and kabuki--supplemented with individual historical essays on each form.

Watch

Yoshitsune and the Thousand Cherry Trees
Performed by the National Bunraku Theatre. This link starts at the "Fushimi Inari Shrine" scene. The piece is by Namiki Sōsuke, Shoraku Miyoshi, and Takeda Izumo II.
Love Suicides at Sonezaki
"The Woods of the Tenjin Shrine" scene performed by the Awa Joruri Theatre, an all women ensemble.This piece is by Chikamatsu Monzaemon
Bunraku: Masters of Japanese Puppet Theatre
One-hour documentary about bunraku.

Explore

Invitation to Bunraku
A site dedicated to the art of bunraku, created by the Japan Arts Council. Be sure to explore the pages for: Stage, Performers, Bunraku Dolls, and Famous Plays.
The Barbara Curtis Adachi Bunraku Collection
Columbia University holds one of the largest collection of Bunraku objects, collected by Barbara Curtis Adachi, someone who was in close contact and collaboration with the Japanese National Bunraku Troupe for over forty years. This online exhibit lets you explore the collection and read plays, view pictures of performances and puppets used in them, learn about characters and authors, and many other things.

Commedia Dell'arte (Italy)

Read

"Commedia dell'arte" encyclopedia article
A brief article by Richard Andrews in the Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance. Go down the rabbit hole and explore related articles in this encyclopedia using the links on the left of the page.
A Concise Introduction to Commedia dell'arte
A quick, ten-page read by John Rudlin that covers the history and context for Commedia dell'arte.

Watch

Spirit of Commedia
A video that is part documentary and part performance featuring Luoghi dell'Arte, a leading Roman Commedia company. Three complete scenes--Il Dottore's Lecture on the Commedia; Pulcinella Mendicante; and Smeraldina's Thai Massage!--along with excerpts from other performances are interspersed with discussion by Commedia performers.

Explore

How to Perform Commedia dell'arte
Watch a series of six different short videos that present easy-to-follow videos explaining how to perform stock characters from Commedia dell'arte.
Commedia dell'arte: Timeline of Art History
A digital exhibit by The Met, this essay touches on major developments and points within Commedia. Explore their collection of relevant artworks, including statues, masks, paintings, prints, and other objects to better understand this genre.

Wayang (Indonesia)

Read

"Wayang" encyclopedia article
A brief article by Edward Herbst in the International Encyclopedia of Dance.
"Wayang kulit" encyclopedia article
A brief article by Kathy Foley in the Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance. Go down the rabbit hole and explore related articles in this encyclopedia using the links on the left of the page.
In Javanese Wayang Kulit and Contemporary Shadow Puppetry, the Medium is the Message
Article by Helen Lehrer in the Smithsonian Center for Folklife & Cultural Heritage Magazine about how wayang has inspired various shadow puppetry performances across the world.

Watch

Wayang Shadow Puppet Play
Start at 16:25. Excerpt from the JVC Anthology of World Music and Dance. For additional information, download the supplemental materials (open the Details section). Relevant information is in volume III starting on page 76.

Explore

Dancing Shadows, Epic Tales
An exhibition site from the Museum of International Folk Art.
Virtual Tour of Museum Wayang
You might not be able to travel to Indonesia to visit the Wayang Museum, but you can pretend! Take a virtual tour of their collections and listen to one of their curators talk about many different aspects of this art form in this Google Arts & Culture tour.

US Puppetry (United States)

Read

"Bread and Puppet Theare" encyclopedia article
A brief article by James L. Secor in the Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice.
"Sesame Street" encyclopedia article
A brief article by Ryan Perry in the Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History.
With the Bread and Puppet Theatre: An Interview with Peter Schumann
Transcription of an interview with the co-founder of the Bread & Puppet Theatre that touches on the history of the company, his philosophy on theatre and politics, and the development of shows. Published in Theatre of the Avant-Garde, 1950-2000: A Critical Anthology.

Watch

The Bread and Puppet Theatre 2022
A one-hour, open air performance by Bread and Puppet Theatre from 2022.
The Obligation to Live
Bread & Puppet Theatre's 2025 spring tour. The director states: The obligation to be alive and act against the actors of death is just one of humanity’s many obligations. We also have the obligation to courage and the obligation to plant garlic in the rubble of the empire. Possibilitarians know this and bring giants, dragons, horses, sheep, butterflies, and the exact dance of death required for this exact moment."
Street Gang: How we got to Sesame Street
Take a stroll down Sesame Street and witness the birth of the most impactful children's series in TV history. From the iconic furry characters to the classic songs you know by heart, learn how a gang of visionary creators changed our world.
The World According to Sesame Street
This documentary explores the drama, challenges, and rewarding outcome as
dedicated Sesame producers and local producers bring to life the world’s most watched children’s
television program in Bangladesh, Kosovo and South Africa.

Explore

Sesame Street: 50 Years of Impact
An in-depth look at the remarkable history of Sesame Street and the non-profit behind it.
Sesame Street archive
Part of the American Archive of Public Broadcasting, this collection contains basic background information as well as links to stream the majority of episodes. Can you find your old favorite (or maybe find a new one)?
On the Edge: Puppets in Contemporary Culture
A half hour conversation between Ricky Lyons, creator of the puppets in Avenue Q, and Nehprii Amenii, creator of Food for the Gods, about how puppets fit into the culture of the 21st century.

Egungun & Gelede (Yorubaland, West Africa)

Read

"Egungun" encyclopedia article
A brief article by Molefi Kete Asante in the Encyclopedia of African Religion.
Egungun: Mysteries Concealed in Magical Cloth
An approachable article by Henry John Drewal, an art historian and museum curator, that explains the history and context for many Egungun performances, particularly focused on the clothing and masks. There are many excellent pictures as well as a video of a performance.
Oral Heritage of Gelede
Brief article from UNESCO describing the intangible cultural heritage of Gelede.

Watch

Yoruba Egungun Masquerade Performances for the Ancestors
Series of performance clips shared by Professor Bolaji Campbell, professor of African and African Diaspora Art at the Rhode Island School of Design, during a lecture at the Art Institute of Chicago. For more historical and contextual information, rewind the video to hear some of the talk.
Egungun Festival in West Africa
Video from the 2025 World Egungun Festival in Oye, Nigeria.
Gelede: A Yoruba Masquerade
Among the Yoruba of Western Nigeria and Dahomey the Gelede cult honours the earth spirits, the ancestors and especially the Great Mother. The festival filmed here emphasises the status of women and placated their potentially dangerous mystic powers.

Explore

One: Egungun
The digital side of a physical exhibit at the Brooklyn Museum. Explore the online offerings to view a rich tapestry of images of the exhibit, learn about some of the specific objects included in it, and read the labels and curator notes helping to explain the historical and cultural context of these materials.
Gelede and Efe Masks
A digital exhibit from the Tolosa Puppet International Center with many excellent pictures of various masks.

More Things to Explore!

Behind the mask : a study of masks and how to use them
Call Number: *Streaming Video*

The video presents a comprehensive overview of masks: what they are, their origin, design elements, making masks and wearing them. The origins and uses of masks in theaters are discussed, and both professional and student actors are interviewed about using masks in performance. Also, a demonstration of how to make a mask is shown.
A Galaxy of Things: The Power of Puppets and Masks in Star Wars and Beyond by Colette Searls
ISBN: 9780367684419

Publication Date: 2023-06-28

An in-depth exploration of how performing objects function in a leading film and TV franchise. Written for an interdisciplinary range of students across the performing arts as well as film, TV, media and popular culture studies.
Introduction to Puppetry Arts by Cheralyn Lambeth
ISBN: 9780429442858

Publication Date: 2019-11-13

Introduction to Puppetry Arts shares the history, cultures, and traditions surrounding the ancient performance art of puppetry, along with an overview of puppet construction and performance techniques used around the world. From its earliest beginnings in the ancient Middle East and Asia, through its representations in Medieval/Renaissance Europe, up until its modern-day appearances in theatre, television, and film, this book offers a thorough overview of how this fascinating art form originated and evolved. It also includes easy-to-follow instructions on how to create puppets for performance and display and an in-depth resource list and bibliography for further research and information. Written for students in puppetry arts and stagecraft courses, Introduction to Puppetry Arts offers a comprehensive look at this enduring craft and provides a starting point for creating a wide range of puppets, from marionettes and hand puppets to mascots and character costumes.
Puppetry : Worlds of Imagination
Call Number: *Streaming Video*

This documentary surveys the revolutionary new developments in American puppet theater, profiling many of puppetry's most imaginative contemporary artists.
Mysterious Masks: Masks of the World
A digital exhibit by the Museum d'histoire naturelle et prehistoire de Nimes exploring masking traditions from around the world throughout history.

How to Make & How to Use

Mask Making Techniques: Creating 3-D Characters from 2-D Designs for Theatre, Cosplay, Film, and TV by Mary C. McClung
ISBN: 9781032379913

Publication Date: 2023-07-20

A foundation reference for mask making and design, the book features over 700 color photos and illustrations of different masks, as well as diagrams of construction and finishing techniques. It provides a wealth of practical information about material options, safety, how to build large- and small-scale masks, how to build armatures for appendages, options for coverings, and finishing techniques.
Theatre Masks Out Side In by Wendy J. Meaden (Contribution by); Michael A. Brown (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781138084193

Publication Date: 2023-01-31

Theatre Masks Out Side In examines masks from different angles and perspectives, combining the history, design, construction, and use of masks into one beautifully illustrated resource. Each chapter includes key information about an element of mask study: history and uses, theatre traditions, practical principles for directing, performing exercises, design considerations, mask making techniques, and considering makeup as mask. Artist interviews, theatre company profiles, and hundreds of images provide insight into the variety of mask styles and performance applications. Project suggestions, discussion questions, useful worksheets, creative prompts, and resources for sourcing masks are included to inspire further exploration. Theatre Masks Out Side In is designed with the beginning theatre maker in mind, as well as prop makers, costume designers and technicians, and actors learning to use masks in performance.
The Well-Dressed Puppet by Cheralyn Lambeth
ISBN: 9781317686613

Publication Date: 2014-07-11

The only book of its kind, The Well-Dressed Puppet will show you how to create costumes and accessories tailored specifically for your puppet that will enhance any performance.