Freely Available Resources for Alumni

WorldCat is a catalog that itemizes the collections of 15,600 libraries in 107 countries. Click on the title of an item to view library locations.Then enter your zip doe to sort the libraries that may own a copy of the item closest to your location.

This is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature.

This database contains over 15,000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

Search and preview millions of books and journals. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher granted permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases, you're free to download a PDF copy.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via Google Books and the Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.

A non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more. Books published prior to 1923 are available for download, and hundreds of thousands of modern books can be borrowed through their Open Library site. https://openlibrary.org/

ORL is from Knowledge Unlatched (a for-profit company). ORL assists in navigating more than 20,000 OA books.

Search dozens of collections for all types of materials such as books, ephemera, photographs, sound recordings, government documents etc.

DPLA makes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.

eScholarship® provides scholarly publishing and repository services that enable University of California scholars to deposit and disseminate their research.

Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions. You can also view more than 250,000 digital images and documents or learn how you can gain access to the physical objects.

Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.

Coverage: 1836-1963 (varies by paper).
Includes newspapers from the states and Puerto Rico and is continuing to grow. Also use to search for general publication information about all U.S. newspapers from 1690 to the present.

This guide, created by a librarian at Bowling Green University, attempts to provide links to every publicly accessible digitized historical newspaper in the United States

A tool from the Library of Congress that is used to find pictures in American newspapers published between 1900 and 1963.