Research Guides: Philosophy: Home

Welcome!

Welcome to the UCI Libraries' Philosophy Research Guide. This guide serves as your portal to the UCI Libraries and its resources.

Please direct any questions to Richard Cho, your Research Librarian for Humanities and Literature.

Subject Guide

Richard Cho

Email Me

Contact:

Langson Library 107

Subjects: Comparative Literature, English, Philosophy

Recognizing the Biases in Academic Scholarship

In order to critically engage with scholarly discourse, researchers need to be aware of the inherent problems within the system of academic scholarship. Those problems could be anything from standards set by white hegemonic systems to subject terms with implicit biases. By acknowledging these inherent problems, all scholars can participate in improving the academic and public discourse.

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

More Information Regarding the VPN

Key Sites : Journal Articles

PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. It monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Philosophy Documentation Center This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text online access to a number of philosophy journals, including articles, book reviews, footnotes, announcements, and notices.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Searches across Oxford Handbooks. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.

POIESIS: Philosophy Online Serials
Includes journals and series published by philosophical societies, departments, and university presses in several countries.

Key Sites : Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy *
Covers all areas of philosophy (Western and non-Western) and provides brief definitions for philosophical terms and concepts, including terms from the related fields of religion, science, and logic. Also includes biographical information about major and influential philosophers.
Oxford Companion to Philosophy *
The language is aimed at non-specialists to help explain the history, meaning, and importance of a concept or person. Excellent starting place for understanding new terms and concepts related to philosophy and logic.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP)
IEP was founded in 1995 for the purpose of providing detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. Authors of the articles are professors at colleges and universities around the world.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy*
Over 2,700 articles, on everything from Medieval philosophy to Postmodernism, and from Aesthetics to Philosophy of biology. Provides in-depth essays about topics and people. Most essays conclude with bibliographic citations.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
SEP is an open access encyclopedia, "designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public."
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Philosophy *
Offers authoritative peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies (combined with an encyclopedia) on philosophy.

Philosophy