Skip to main content
On Sunday, March 26, 2017, UC Irvine Research Guides will experience some minor loss in functionality due to scheduled maintenance on related systems.
** = UC
Irvine access only
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism**
From Plato to the present day, the Guide provides lengthy in-depth entries on criticism and theoretical research. At the end of each article, a primary and secondary bibliography appears that points you to more in-depth articles/books.
MLA International Bibliography**
Though strong in literature, this database does include substantial citations on critical and literary theory
PEP Archive (Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing)**
The PEP contains the complete FULL TEXT of 26 premier journals in psychoanalysis, 56 classic psychoanalytic books, and all 24 volumes of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud.
Indexes the major philosophical journals from around the world. The database covers topics of concern in critical theory such as aesthetics, epistemology, political philosophy and the philosophy of language.
Full-text of key social theorists -- including Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, Émile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons.
Wellek Library Lecturer Bibliographies
In conjunction with the Wellek Library Lectures, these extensive bibliographies compile the publications and scholarship of each lecturer. The list includes lecturers such scholars as Derrida, Butler, Spivak, and Jameson.
Year’s Work in Critical and Cultural Theory**
This narrative bibliography provides descriptive trends and issues that developed over the past year in specific strains (e.g. Deconstruction, Psychoanalysis, Media Studies, etc) of Critical Theory.