Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Writing 39C: Argument & Research: Mass Incarceration

Recommended resources for students working on their Writing 39C research and writing assignments.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/w39c

Find Sources

These databases can find all types of articles and multi-modal resources. However, they are best at finding academic research articles. Do you need a scholarly or peer reviewed article? It's a good idea to begin here.

Find books in the library:

Online reference (or background) resources on mass incarceration:

Select bibliography of contemporary works on mass incarceration:

Newspaper Resources

  • Google News
    This is the Google News aggregation index. While historical coverage is limited, it can be a useful point of entry for contemporary issues research.
  • Los Angeles Times*
    Access to the full text of the Los Angeles Times from 1986 to the present The LA Times is not covered in the United States Newspapers database. If you need articles from before 1986, us the Historical LA Times, 1881-1986.
  • New York Times*
    Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980 is available. If you need articles from before 1980, use the Historical New York Times, 1851-2009.
  • US Newspapers*
    Full-text content of more than 650 US newspapers. Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics and government, local companies, and people.

Criminal Justice News

Criminal Justice News sites link out to corrections and sentencing related stories daily.

 

Why use a daily news feed like TCR or Sentencing Law and Policy blog?  Because their subject focus is our subject focus -- criminal justice in the U.S. broadly speaking.  By following a criminal justice news feed like TCR (published by one of the most influential criminal justice schools in the United States) or an academic law professor's blog like Sentencing Law and Policy, you efficiently gain insight into relevant, emergent issues of the day. 

 

THE CRIME REPORT (TCR)

About The Crime Report: [Subscription Required For Some Full Text Access] The Crime Report  (TCR) is the nation’s only comprehensive news service covering the diverse challenges and issues of 21st century criminal justice in the U.S. and abroad... [I]t is published daily by the Center on Media, Crime and Justice at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York..."

Loading ...

____________________________________

 

SENTENCING LAW AND POLICY

Loading ...

These are examples of multimodal information sources. There are many other types of multimodal information and writing. Please consult with your writing instructor about how to incorporate multimodals into your writing assignment.

Statistics and Data - General

Criminal Justice Data & Statistics

Images and Media

A highly selective sample of non-governmental criminal justice policy and research making organizations -- Other unlisted sites may prove equally valuable and valid for purposes of your research.

Loading ...

Additional Research Support

Help Bubble

Schedule a Research Consultation

Schedule an appointment to get one-on-one research assistance from a librarian.

Visit a Peer Tutor

Get help with your writing from a peer writing consultant.

Canvas Research Skills Online Mini-Course

Self-directed online modules to develop research skills needed to for 39C. Required for online sections of 39C.