Research Guides: Art: Databases: Historical News/Magazines

Resource Highlight:

UCI Libraries purchased the Art + Photography module.
A collection of digitized back-files of popular art magazines of the 20th century.
This provides digital access to 22 titles. Title examples include: American Craft, Aperture, Appollo, Art and AsiaPacific, C: A Critical Visual Art Magazine, Ceramics Technical, Goya, International Sculpture, Popular Photography, WomanCraft, Women Artists Slide Library Newsletter, and more.
Each issue is scanned in high resolution color with fully searchable text.

19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window A database of newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from established country or university towns, industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, and Scotland, Ireland and Wales.
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Included in this collection are national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist.
Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online This link opens in a new window This collection provides rich documentation of the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements. It contains the periodicals accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions held at the International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.
Latin American Newspapers This link opens in a new window A collection of historical Latin American newspapers, including newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window A collection of newspapers (as digital facsimiles) chronicling the evolution of American culture and daily life from 1690 to the recent past. This database includes five unique collections, including African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2; Early American Newspapers Series 1, 2, and 13; Early American Newspapers California, and Hispanic American Newspapers.

American Prison Newspapers American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.

California Digital Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window A digitized collection of selected California newspapers spanning the years from 1849 to 1911. The project is run by the Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research at the UC Riverside.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Contains newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. It also provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines This link opens in a new window Contains full-text articles from periodicals, including campaign newspapers, published from 1860 to 1865. The database also contains a sample selection of Union and Confederate letters from the larger database, American Civil War: Letters & Diaries. Document types include advertisement, article series, biographical sketch/obituary, cartoon, editorial, fiction, government announcement, humor / satirical commentary, illustration, map, news story/item, panoramic view, poetry, portrait, publisher's notice, and travel narrative.
Los Angeles Times Historical This link opens in a new window Provides access to the full text, "as printed" edition of Los Angeles Times, including images and advertisements, from 1881 - 1997.

California:
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1987)

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window A selection of digitized images of periodicals and journals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Historical archive of trade magazines focused on the entertainment industry (i.e., music, film, broadcasting, and theatre). Excellent source of information to discover things like top charts, hiring notices, industry announcements, entertainment union news, etc.

Media History Digital Library A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound. Collections include extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines like Photoplay and Moving Picture World.

Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window Periodicals archive online makes the backfiles of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. It is international in scope, with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window A database of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
The Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window An archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, and including pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs. This archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Women's Magazine Archive I This link opens in a new window A collection of women's interest magazines from the 19th century through present. Topics include consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history.