Research Guides: Art: Films + Streaming

Streaming Media Databases at UCI

Visit the Streaming Media Research Guide (https://guides.lib.uci.edu/StreamingMedia) for a comprehensive list of restreaming resources that UCI Libraries subscribes to. Here are a few recommended streaming resources:

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to contemporary and classic feature films and documentaries, from the major Hollywood studios as well as independent and international filmmakers.
Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
A portal for independent, documentary, educational and social issue video and films. Search or browse by subject.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
A collection of the 500 most requested Hollywood and feature films of all time.
UCInetID authentication required to log in.
Asian Film Online This link opens in a new window
Offers a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, offering perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. This collection provides a view on Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window
A collection of films selected from the catalogues of independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens.
Ethnographic Video Online. Volume I & II This link opens in a new window
A visual encyclopedia of human behavior and culture, contains classic and contemporary documentaries; previously unpublished footage from working anthropologists and ethnographers, and select feature films.

Connecting to Library Resources

The icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication.
For help with VPN & connecting off-campus visit https://www.lib.uci.edu/connect.

Find Films in UC Library Search

The Multimedia Resources Center (MRC) at the Science Library houses the UCI Libraries' collection of non-print media in the arts, humanities, business and management, social sciences, the East Asian Film Collection, and government information.

Some tips on discovering films in UC Library Search:

1. Searching for films in the Library Search catalog is made easier by using the facets along the left-hand side of the search screen under the heading 'Refine your results'. Type in the film title or filmmaker/artist as a keyword search to start.

2. Narrow your results on the left hand menu by selecting "Resource Type: Video"

3. After finding a film you're interested in, click on the record for more information about it. If it is available, you can also request to pick it up at MRC (sign in first)! The loan period (if you can borrow it) will be listed. Note: some films are for onsite viewing only.