Research Guides: Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Resources: Home

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

UCI News and Related Sites

School and Departments

UCI School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences Founded in 2020, the UC Irvine School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences is the first public pharmacy school in the Los Angeles-Orange County region. We offer the following undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees: Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences Master of Science in Pharmacology Doctor of Philosophy in Pharmacological Sciences Doctor of Pharmacy Our school encompasses two departments: Pharmaceutical Sciences (established in 2007) and Clinical Pharmacy Practice (established in 2020). As part of the Susan & Henry Samueli College of Health Sciences, we actively collaborate with schools and programs in medicine, nursing, and population, public health, and the Susan Samueli Integrative Health Institute to educate, train, and mentor the next generation of pharmaceutical scientists and clinical pharmacists.
Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice The Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice offers unparalleled training for future careers in pharmacy. Our innovative curriculum focuses on integrative health and putting the patient first. Our goal is to train students in the classroom and in the field to improve our society’s health and well-being. The department is an essential component of the School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences as it is the home of our clinical pharmacy practice faculty, who are developing and delivering didactic and experiential curricula for the Doctor of Pharmacy program.
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences The Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences offers undergraduate and graduate students unparalleled training for future careers in pharmacy, medicine, and biomedical research. Our innovative, rigorous curriculum integrates concepts from biology, chemistry, chemical engineering, pharmacology and physiology. Alumni pursue exciting professional opportunities that improve our society’s health and well-being. Pharmaceutical scientists are rapidly changing the field of drug discovery and development. Graduates of our program are well qualified to seek employment in the public and private sectors, or pursue graduate degrees such as PhD, MD, or PharmD.

News

UCI Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice (DCPP) Newsletter

Key Databases

* = UC Irvine access only. Remote users log in to the VPN first.

AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Offers access to anesthesiology reference, research, and curricular instruction material. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online anesthesiology resource covers the entire spectrum of anesthesiology from the basics to specialty-specific content. This resource can help medical students in their clerkship; assist residents with their skills, and self-assessment, and leading anesthesiology textbooks that will allow practicing anesthesiologists reinforce their medical knowledge for recertification; and provide CRNAs with an important foundation in their career.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window An online e-book resource that provides access to health sciences information. Contains thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools and more.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Allows selection by core curriculum topic, browsing by organ system, review of textbooks, or searching across leading pharmacy online references.
AHFS Drug Information This link opens in a new window A comprehensive evidence-based source of drug information complete with therapeutic guidelines and off-label uses. Has expanded and revised content supported by more than 97,000 references and incorporating the advice of numerous subject matter experts, AHFS DI helps protect patients and practice.
APhA Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window PharmacyLibrary features APhA's authoritative textbooks, PharmacotherapyFirst, interactive self-assessments, more than 250 Active Learning Exercises easily adaptable for a variety of educational settings, case studies, and information from a variety of news sources.
Clinical Pharmacology This link opens in a new window A comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals in making sound medication decisions by providing the fastest access to the most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.
DynaMedex This link opens in a new window Current and accurate, evidence-based content for practicing clinicians. A multidisciplinary systematic database of emerging scientific literature and clinical practice guidelines.
LWW Health Library Anesthesiology This link opens in a new window A collection of clinical practice books ideal for any anesthesiology residency or CRNA program, procedural and clinical video clips, case studies, and other multimedia. This book-multimedia collection covers core content in every major Anesthesiology sub-discipline - echocardiography, pain management and more. Designed to help residents understand the science underlying anesthesia and the intersection between surgery and anesthesia—through textbooks & multimedia—to succeed on each core rotation as well as Board exams.
LWW Health Library Pharmacy This link opens in a new window Developed to meet your institution’s content needs of faculty, students, and professionals throughout the PharmD curriculum and pharmacy training programs.
The Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window Authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive drug, acute care, and toxicology information. Databases can be searched individually, or a collection of databases can be searched simultaneously. A suite of PDR sources and Martindale are included in this resource.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window Natural Medicines provides evidenced-based information on herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, homeopathic products, and many other natural remedies. It contains additional features including an Effectiveness Checker, Nutrient Depletion Checker, and Natural Product/Drug Interaction Checker. Browsable diseases and conditions database.
PubChem This link opens in a new window Mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
U.S. Pharmacopeia (USP) Reference Standards This link opens in a new window Establish primary standards for helping to ensure quality in pharmaceutical development and manufacturing. To confirm accuracy and reproducibility, USP Reference Standards are rigorously tested and evaluated by multiple independent laboratories including USP, commercial, regulatory, and academic labs. We also provide publicly available, official documentary standards for pharmaceutical ingredients in the USP–NF that link directly with our primary reference standards.
UptoDate This link opens in a new window Point of care resource of filtered, synopsized, and evidence-based information. Contains clinical references which are the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original peer-reviewed text. Specific practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment are provided.

Multimedia

JoVE This link opens in a new window
JoVE is a peer reviewed, scientific video journal that offers educational videos to support the effective teaching of science concepts and laboratory methods in undergraduate and graduate courses at universities and colleges. These videos enable quick in-depth comprehension of complex STEM subjects to increase student engagement and learning outcomes, and support innovative teaching initiatives such as blended learning and flipped classroom.
Protein Lounge: Redefining Biology This link opens in a new window
ProteinLounge is a leader in the field of system biology. We have developed many interactive web-based databases and software to help the life-scientists understand the complexity of systems biology. Systems biology efforts focus on understanding cellular networks, protein interactions involved in cell signaling, mechanisms of cell survival and apoptosis leading to development or identification of drug candidates against a variety of diseases. In the post-genomic era, one of the major concerns for life-science researchers is the organization of gene/protein data. Protein Lounge has met this concern by organizing all necessary data about genes/proteins into one portal. ProteinLounge has revolutionized bioinformatics by constructing the first complete siRNA target database, a complete Peptide-Antigen target database and a Kinase-Phosphatase database. We have also developed the largest database of illustrated signal transduction pathways, which are interconnected to our extensive protein database and online gene/protein analysis tools. Protein Lounge is an ideal site for both life-science researchers as well as students. Our information is very detailed and still explained in an easily understandable manner.

Key Sites

Drugs@FDA Includes information about drugs approved for human use in the United States: Drug information, Regulatory history, Most recent FDA-approved Prescribing Information and patient labeling, and Reviews by FDA staff that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug. Drugs@FDA does not include information about FDA-approved products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (vaccines, allergenic products, blood and blood products, plasma derivatives, and cellular and gene therapy products) or products not approved by the FDA.
FDA’s Labeling Resources for Human Prescription Drugs Includes searchable labeling and product databases and explains how “current” labeling that is submitted by companies to the FDA (e.g., labeling that appears on DailyMed and FDALabel) may differ from the last FDA-approved labeling (labeling that appears on Drugs@FDA). This webpage also links to the following additional prescription drug labeling-related resources: The Prescribing Information Resources webpage includes a sample template for the Prescribing Information and specific resources for each section of the Full Prescribing Information. The Patient Labeling Resources webpage includes answers to questions about Instructions for Use, Medication Guides, and Patient Package Inserts. The Carton and Container Labeling Resources webpage includes carton and container labeling regulatory provisions, guidances, and MAPPs. The Generic Drugs – Specific Labeling Resources webpage includes information about requirements for generic drug labeling, recommendations on updating generic drug labeling, and generic drug labeling guidances and MAPPs. The Biological Products – Specific Labeling Resources webpage includes biosimilar and interchangeable biosimilar guidances, the “deemed BLA” guidance, and nonproprietary biological product nomenclature guidances and MAPPs. The Selection of Appropriate SPL Codes for Human Prescription Drug Labeling webpage includes recommendations for Structured Product Labeling developers in selecting the appropriate SPL codes for human prescription drug labeling. The Frequently Asked Questions about Labeling for Prescription Medicines includes prescription drug labeling resources for healthcare professionals and patients.
Orange Book: Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (commonly known as the Orange Book), identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act). The main criterion for the inclusion of any product is that the product is the subject of an application with an effective approval that has not been withdrawn for safety or efficacy reasons. In addition, the Orange Book contains therapeutic equivalence evaluations for approved multisource prescription drug products.
Pharmacist's Letter Make the most informed, evidence-based decisions about patient care and get ready to answer patient and care team questions as they arise. You’ll get the quick answers you need, so you can provide current information that promotes medication safety and adherence.
Purple Book Database of Licensed Biological Products The Purple Book database contains information on all FDA-licensed (approved) biological products regulated by the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), including licensed biosimilar and interchangeable products, and their reference products. The Purple Book also contains information about all FDA-licensed allergenic, cellular and gene therapy, hematologic, and vaccine products regulated by the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research (CBER).
RxList Online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Founded by pharmacists in 1995, RxList is the premier Internet Drug Index resource. Acquired by WebMD in 2004, our knowledgeable staff at RxList continuously reviews and updates the site with articles written by pharmacists and physicians and data provided by credible and reliable sources like the FDA, Cerner Multum, and First Databank, Inc. to ensure the most accurate and beneficial information is provided.
WHO - Access to Medicines and Health Products Universal health coverage can only be achieved when there is affordable access to safe, effective and quality medicines and health products. Countries face a range of obstacles to achieving this, including rising prices for new medicines; shortages and stock outs of essential medicines, especially for noncommunicable diseases, and the growing problem of substandard and falsified medical products entering the global supply chain. Added to this, there are other challenges to ensuring that medicines are not only available, but are used appropriately. Antimicrobial resistance has become a worldwide problem largely due to overuse, and misuse of opioids has led to an addiction epidemic in some countries. Knowing where to tackle the problem is the first step. WHO works with Member States to identify what their priorities are on the road to achieving this universal access.

Quick Links

Related Medical Guides

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Resources