Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Nursing: EndNote

Subject Guide for Nursing Students, Staff and Faculty
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/nursing

EndNote Training, Tutorials & Fixes

Important update for EndNote users with macOS systems

Apple will be releasing macOS 10.15 Catalina in October 2019. Apple has made the decision to drop all 32-bit application support with this release, which will impact EndNote

For customers that already have EndNote X9:
If you are planning on installing macOS Catalina when it is released in October, please install the X9.3.1 update first, to avoid interruption in your workflow. To learn more about the updates to EndNote X9, please visit https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-for-Mac-macOS-Catalina-Compatibility?language=en_US.

For customers running EndNote X8 or earlier:
We recommend upgrading to EndNote X9 as your current version will not work with macOS Catalina. Alternately, you may keep working on your current macOS version. For more details, please visit https://support.clarivate.com/Endnote/s/article/EndNote-for-Mac-macOS-Catalina-Compatibility?language=en_US.

NOTE: for those using EndNote X8 and earlier on macOS, Clarivate (the company that owns EndNote), is offering a 50% discount off of the standard upgrade price to EndNote X9. See the link above for more information.

References imported into EndNote Desktop from PubMed/ Medline may show abbreviations instead of full names as required by the APA 6th edition style. See the official EndNote video below to apply a fix to EndNote Desktop. The video still refers to EndNote X7, but the instructions will work with the current version. NOTE: You must have a library open in EndNote in order to follow these instructions.

Unfortunately, there is currently no fix available for this issue in EndNoteWeb.

For more information on setting up and using EndNote go to https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home.

In your document, do the following:

  • Word 2007/2010/2013/2016 (Windows): Go to the EndNote or Endnote Web tab. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th. At the lower right-hand corner of the "Bibliography" portion of the ribbon, there is a square box. Click on this box.

    Word 2016 (Mac): Go to the EndNote or EndNote Web tab. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th. Click Bibliography > Configure Bibliography.

    Word 2003/2004/2008/2011: Go to the "Tools" Menu and choose "EndNote (or EndNote Web) > Configure Bibliography, Bibliography Settings or Format Bibliography" command. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th.
     
  • Next, click on the Layout tab. Here, you have options to change the font and line spacing options for the bibliography.

 

For more information on setting up and using EndNote go to https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home.

You can configure EndNote to retrieve full text through the UC-eLinks while on campus or while connected to the Software VPN.

To use UC-eLinks from within EndNote, make the following modification:

  • Open EndNote and in the top menu go to Edit > Preferences in Windows, and the EndNote menu > Preferences on the MAC.
  • Select the Find Full Text option.
  • Check the four boxes at the top, and paste this link into the OpenURL Path: https://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local
  • Click OK

You can now right click on references (or multiple selected reference) and select the Find Full Text option.

For more information on setting up and using EndNote go to https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home.

The desktop vesion of EndNote is available for download to UCI students (including faculty, and staff) for $119.95 through the ThinkEDU online store. Go to https://store.thinkedu.com/clarivate-analytics-endnote-x9-for-students-macwin-download-p9573.aspx.

This purchase requires an “Academic ID” which consists of your UCI email address.

Loading ...