Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

MS in Engineering Management (MSEM): Engineering


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/msem


Engineering:  Industry Databases

 

BCC Research
Access: UCI

Geography: Global

In depth market research reports on several emerging high-tech industries, including engineering. 

 

Frost & Sullivan
Access: UCI

Geography: Global (limited)

HTML-only industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.

 

IBISWorld
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Industry research reports of 30-40 pages on over 700 U.S. industries, including many which touch upon all types of engineering.  

 

​PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries.  Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds.
Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

  • To get started:  [Left Sidebar] > click on Companies & Deals > Industry 


MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Domestic and international industry profiles and company profiles throughout many fields involving engineering.

 

Plunketts Research Online
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Market research, industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of top companies. 

 


Engineering:  Academic and Trade Articles

 

Compendex
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Citations with abstracts to worldwide literature in engineering and technology, excluding patents.

 

Derwent Innovations Index
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Within the Web of Science database. 20 million+ patents worldwide from 1963 in three sections: chemical, electronic and electrical engineering, and mechanical engineering.

 

Science Direct
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.

 

Web of Science
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Index for finding scholarly articles in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. 

 

OSTI.GOV
Access: Public
Geography: US

The primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results, and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Makes research results from DOE and predecessor agencies discoverable.  Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; technical reports; patents; conference and workshop papers; and more. 

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Thousands of full-text and bibliographic entries for scholarly business journals. Also includes financial reports, trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, and market research reports. 

 

Materials Science & Engineering
Access: UCI
Geography: Global

Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications.

 Box title- Access Answers 


What can I access? 


Access is generally available to all users. Registration or account creation might be required to access.

For commercial websites, the UCI Libraries do not offer premium memberships or subscriptions.

 


Access is available to all users ON the UCI campus and at GML.

OFF campus access requires Authorized Affiliates to log into the VPN with their active UCInetID and password. Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Authorized Affiliates are users with an active UCInetID and password, i.e. current UCI students, faculty, and staff.

 


These resources are not licensed by the UCI Libraries, but librarians occasionally promote them when they are relevant for certain types of research.

Access is available only for Authorized Affiliates, who are also affiliated with the Paul Merage School of Business.

 

The resources are limited to select UCI populations, based on the user’s status, e.g. current UCI Faculty or PhD students. Please refer to the UCI Libraries for access instructions.

Examples for why content may be limited include: a vendor set restrictions on who may access their information; alternatively, information may be sensitive, identifying, or embargoed;

 


How do I access? 
-  Students
-  Employees
-  Alumni
-  Visitors


New browser window icon.Am I on the UCI network?
Test my UCI connection.


New browser window icon.Am I responsibly using
what I access?

Typically acceptable vs. unacceptable use.