Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Thesis / Dissertation Formatting Manual

This guide contains information about the formatting and submission of your graduate thesis or dissertation research project.

How to Submit Your Manuscript

You have two options for submitting your manuscript to the UCI Libraries: electronic and paper. Electronic submission is highly encouraged.

***PLEASE NOTE: there is no way of making your submitted manuscript "dark"; regardless of if you submit your manuscript on paper to the Archives, or electronically to ProQuest, your manuscript will be discoverable to researchers. If you have questions or concerns, please email gradthesis@uci.edu

***COVID-19 NOTE***

The submission process is slightly altered due to the pandemic. If you are submitting your manuscript electronically (recommended), the submission process with the Libraries is exactly the same: you submit to ProQuest and wait for the acceptance email from the Libraries. Once you have the acceptance email, all of your forms are submitted via email to Graduate Division (grad@uci.edu).

If you are planning to submit a paper version of your manuscript, please email gradthesis@uci.edu.

Review Timeline:

If your manuscript is received more than 48 hours prior to the filing deadline, staff at the UCI Libraries will review your manuscript for the following:

Library staff will either accept the manuscript, confirming its compliance with formatting guidelines, or return the manuscript to the student with requests for specific revisions.

 

***PLEASE NOTE: Theses or dissertations received less than 48 hours prior to the 5pm filing deadline will be accepted as-is without review, and consequently run the risk of being published permanently with errors. 

***Your manuscript review may take up to 2 business days to complete.***

Electronic Submission

Electronic submission of your manuscript is done through ProQuest. The acceptance email that you must print out as part of your final degree paperwork will be sent from the UCI Libraries via the ProQuest system.

  1. (Optional) Complete a Pre-Submission Critique. These are available to all graduate students up to one week before the filing deadline. During a critique, you can have your manuscript formatting looked over by a UCI Libraries staff member to ensure all of your formatting is up to publication standard. If you choose not to have a Pre-Submission Critique, your manuscript on ProQuest may be accepted "as-is."

    If you'd like a Pre-Submission Critique, you can request one up to seven days before the filing deadline by:​
    1. Uploading your manuscript to this form, or
    2. Emailing a PDF of your manuscript to gradthesis@uci.edu 
       
  2. Create an account in ProQuest. Be sure that you are on the UCI ProQuest page and complete all fields. Be sure that the email address you use to create your ProQuest account is one which you frequently check. This will be the address to which your Acceptance email (and all other communication) will be sent. 
     
  3. Upload your document(s). Your manuscript must be in portable document format (PDF) when you upload. You have the option of uploading your copyright letters and any potential supplemental materials (e.g., .mp3 files) as well. 
     
  4. Wait. Once you upload and submit your manuscript, you will receive a confirmation email from ProQuest letting you know that your submission went through. This is not your Acceptance email. Within 48 business hours of your submission, you will receive an email from ProQuest. This will either be your Acceptance email (at which point, your submission process is complete), or will be an email that is requesting changes to your manuscript be made. If you must make changes, your updated resubmission is subject to the same 48 business hour wait time. 
     
  5. Print your Acceptance email. Once you receive your Acceptance email, print it out. This printed email becomes part of your final paperwork packet that must be turned in to Graduate Division.

    If your ProQuest account says that your manuscript has been accepted, but you did not receive the email, double check that you are looking in the correct email account (e.g., if you create your ProQuest account with a Gmail address, all of your ProQuest communication will be sent to your Gmail account, not to your UCI email), and check the spam folders. If you still cannot find your email, send your request to gradthesis@uci.edu.

     
  6. Turn in your paperwork. Your final paperwork must be accepted and date-stamped by someone from Graduate Division by end-of-day on the Filing Deadline. Failure to meet this deadline may result in your degree being delayed one (or more) terms. Turn in all paperwork (with original signatures) to Grad Division at 120 Aldrich Hall.
***PLEASE NOTE: all ProQuest submissions are processed in order of receipt. Each submission (and resubmission) is subject to a 48 business hour processing time. We cannot rush or expedite any submission reviews.

Paper Submission

Paper submission of your thesis/dissertation must be done in-person and with a scheduled appointment. At your appointment, if your manuscript is accepted, you will receive a signed Dissertation-Thesis Approval Form. This form must be submitted as part of your final degree paperwork. 

  1. (OptionalComplete a Pre-Submission Critique. These are available to all graduate students up to one week before the filing deadline. During a critique, you can have your manuscript formatting looked over by a UCI Libraries staff member to ensure all of your formatting is up to publication standard.

    If you'd like a Pre-Submission Critique, you can request one up to seven days before the filing deadline by:​
    1. Uploading your manuscript to this form, or
    2. Emailing a PDF of your manuscript to gradthesis@uci.edu
       
  2. Schedule an appointment. We cannot accommodate drop-in submission appointments. You must have an appointment to submit your paper thesis/dissertation. Email gradthesis@uci.edu to schedule your submission appointment. You will be submitting your manuscript the UCI Libraries' Special Collection & Archives Department.
     
  3. Prepare your manuscripts. There are strict guidelines that your printed manuscript must follow in order to be accepted by Special Collections & Archives. You are responsible for providing the requisite copies of your manuscript and for following all guidelines.
     

    Required at your submission appointment:

    1. Two unbound copies of your manuscript on 8.5" X 11", 20- to 24-pound, white, bond finish, 100% cotton paper
    2. Two manila envelopes, each large enough to hold one copy of the manuscript, with a copy of the title page taped to the front of each for identification purposes
    3. PhD Form II (completed)
    4. Dissertation-Thesis Approval Form (all sections except the signatures completed)
    5. One extra copy of your title page and abstract
  4. Be on time to your submission appointment. If you miss or are late to your submission appointment, your manuscript may not be accepted until a new appointment is scheduled. You must bring all of the above-listed required items to your appointment or your manuscript may not be accepted.
     
  5. Get your Dissertation-Thesis Approval Form signed. If you manuscript is accepted, ensure that the staff member from Special Collections & Archives signed your Dissertation-Thesis Approval Form. This form with original signature is required as part of your final paperwork and will prove that you've completed your thesis/dissertation.
     
  6. Turn in your paperwork. Your final paperwork must be accepted and date-stamped by a Graduate Division staff member by end-of-day on the Filing Deadline. Failture to meet this deadline may result in your degree being delayed one (or more) terms. Turn in all paperwork (with original signatures) to Grad Division at 120 Aldrich Hall.

Your Manuscript After Submission

All approved thesis/dissertation manuscripts completed by UCI students automatically become available for public access and circulation as part of the UC Irvine Libraries collection.  Theses and dissertations submitted electronically will be available via Library Search, with a link to the full text in eScholarship. You have an option to delay access through an embargo request process.

Dissertations are published by ProQuest Dissertations or another designated firm approved by UCI that makes dissertations available worldwide through an online index.

The time needed for cataloging and various other processes for electronic publishing varies; allow a minimum of five months for the entire process from submission of your manuscript to UCI Libraries to the time your manuscript is available for viewing.