Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites & Other Resources
Complete Index to World Film since 1895
Database of over 379,000 films from 175 countries compiled by Alan Goble
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
One of the most robust film sites on the free web, claiming information on 250,000 films, including entries on over 900,000 individuals--of which more than 50,000 are directors--and does contain links to film reviews and (unofficial) box office statistics.
Media History Digital Library Project
The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for public access. Works that are no longer in copyright or that have been licensed are scanned to share to the public.
Margaret Herrick Library
Searches the following databases from the Margaret Herrick Library at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences:
-Index to Periodical Articles In-house index of selected periodical holdings.
-Manuscript Inventories Detailed descriptions of Special Collections holdings.
-Photograph Inventories Finding aid to photographs in the library.
-Production Art Guide to original artwork in the library's collection.
-Production Files Finding aid to items housed in the library's Production Files.
"Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts. Critical Commons is also part of the technical and conceptual architecture for numerous electronic publishing efforts that directly engage media as objects of analysis, curation and critique." About page, http://www.criticalcommons.org/about-us
Moving Image Source Research Guide
The Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media. Resources include links/tools for criticism and theory, history and styles, industry, people, and technology and craft.
An online database of international film enables users to search and filter by options including title, director, country, language, and genre, and provides one-click access to more than 100 streaming services in the US. The site also offers a variety of features to help users discover new content, including curation, a customizable user experience, and an engaged community of fans.
Society for Cinema and Media Studies
Professional organization of college and university educators, filmmakers, historians, critics, scholars, and others devoted to the study of the moving image.
Association of Moving Image Archivists
The Association of Moving Image Archivists is an international nonprofit association dedicated to the preservation and use of moving image media.
Society of Motion Picture & Television Engineers (SMPTE)
The members of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) have sorted out the details of many significant advances in media and entertainment technology.
Domitor: the International Society for the Study of Early Cinema
An association for people interested in cinema from its beginnings to 1915 which strives to explore new methods of historical research by promoting the international exchange of information and ideas.
The California Film Commission is a resource for film, TV, and commercial production across the Golden State.
University Film and Video Association
The University Film and Video Association (UFVA) is a not-for-profit organization and the leading association in the United States dedicated to the promotion and study of moving image practice in higher education.
International Association for Media and History
An organization of scholars, filmmakers, broadcasters and archivists dedicated to historical inquiry into film, radio, television, and other related media."
Connecting to Library Resources