Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Connecting to Library Resources
Streaming Resources @ UCI Libraries
Visit the Streaming Media Library Guide, which lists streaming resources across disciplines available at UCI Libraries and on the free web.
Streaming Media Resources at UCI Libraries
Stream thousands of films and documentaries.
Swank Digital Campus
Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with a collection of 500 of the most requested Hollywood and feature films of all time. Swank Digital Campus simplifies film distribution by providing faculty and students a legal streaming resource both on and off campus.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
AVON delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street (a ProQuest Company) and includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
Asian Film Online
Features, indies, and documentaries from Asian filmmakers. Subtitles and sometimes script provided.
Ethnographic Video Online
"Ethnographic Video Online is a comprehensive online resource for the study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork."
Streaming film collection contains over 1,000 documentaries
New World Cinema
Independent features and shorts from across the world, from 1990-present. Approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and the Global Films Initiative.
Opera in Video
Approximately 250 important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world's leading performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance to the operatic canon.
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all.
Video in Dance
Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century.
Art On Screen
Art on Screen (1970-1998 with select coverage 1915-1969)
An online compilation of bibliographic information about moving-image productions on the visual arts. Keyword searching provides access to titles, producers, directors, writers, editors, animators, narrators, composers, synopses, as well as language, genre, intended audience, reviews, and awards.
Find Films in Library Search catalog
The Multimedia Resources Center (MRC) at the Science Library houses the UCI Libraries' collection of non-print media in the arts, humanities, business and management, social sciences, the East Asian Film Collection, and government information. The UCI Libraries actively collects titles that support instruction and research for the academic programs at UCI.
Searching for films in the Library Search catalog is made easier by using the facets along the left-hand side of the search screen under the heading 'Refine your results'. Type in the film title or filmmaker as a keyword search. Use quotes to make a phrase search if relevant. Then, choose video under the Resource Type heading in order to only display search results that are videos.
How to search the film collections at UCI: