Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resource Highlight: Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for public access. Works that are no longer in copyright or that have been licensed are scanned to share to the public. Use Lantern to search and explore their digital library, or browse their various collections:
Historical Newspaper Databases
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Current content is available each day with archives that stretch as far back as 1980.
Los Angeles Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text, "as printed" edition of Los Angeles Times, including images and advertisements, from 1881 - 1997.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full text, "as printed" edition of The New York Times, including images and advertisements. Coverage begins with the first edition published in 1851 and extends to three years from the present day (due to a rolling embargo).
Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 2014 This link opens in a new window
Full-text facsimile of The Times, Britain’s oldest national daily newspaper from 1785-2014.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Historical archive of trade magazines focused on the entertainment industry (i.e., music, film, broadcasting, and theatre). Excellent source of information to discover things like top charts, hiring notices, industry announcements, entertainment union news, etc.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Over 640 full-text journals and more than 225 full-text books with international coverage starting in 1929. Note that this database also includes current content as well, not just historical.
FIAF International Film Archive Database This link opens in a new window
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) produces the International Index to Film Periodicals– a database for researching film history, theory, and criticism. FIAF indexes coverage of academic and popular film journals by searching the International Index to Film Periodicals from 1972 – present. This database also includes FIAF’s “Treasures from Film Archives” which is a detailed index of silent-era film holdings of archives globally.
Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era: 1907-1927 This link opens in a new window
The Moving Picture World is a film periodical that began publication in 1907 and appeared weekly until January 1928, when it became Exhibitors Herald and Moving Picture World. It reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.
Picture Post Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full color.
The Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
An archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, and including pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs. This archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
Daily Variety Archives This link opens in a new window
The Daily Variety Archives contain almost every issue Variety has ever published — every page, including articles and ads, front pages and back covers. Each page is a watermarked PDF file. Variety began as a weekly publication December 16, 1905. Currently, the archives begin March 18, 1906. The archive is currently missing: March 29, 1932-June 14, 1932.