Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film and Media Studies: Historical News/Magazine Databases

Resource Highlight: Media History Digital Library

The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing historic books and magazines about film, broadcasting, and recorded sound for public access. Works that are no longer in copyright or that have been licensed are scanned to share to the public. Use Lantern to search and explore their digital library, or browse their various collections:

Historical Newspaper Databases

Los Angeles Times Historical, 1881-1986 Lock Icon

  • Search for historical Los Angeles Times articles.

U.S. major dailies Lock Icon

  • U.S. Major Dailies provides access to current content and significant archives dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.

(London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985 Lock Icon

  • The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertisements.

New York State Historical Newspaper Pages Lock Icon

  • Search Over 7,486,000 Old New York State Historical Newspaper Pages. Particularly relevant for film studies as it includes scans of the New York Clipper

Newspapers.com Lock Icon

  • An extensive database that provides online access to 3,000+ historical newspapers. Dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s, Newspapers.com Library Edition contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.

Microfilm Collections

Historical Magazines

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Lock Icon

  • An archival research resource containing essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

Art & Architecture Source Lock Icon

  • Over 640 full-text journals and more than 225 full-text books with international coverage starting in 1929. Note that this database also includes current content as well, not just historical.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Lock Icon

  • This database is an essential reference work for any film researcher and contains a diverse range of specialist content: the International Index to Film Periodicals, which contains over 500,000 article citations from more than 345 periodicals. It offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also included is The Treasures from the Film Archives dataset; a database containing credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world.

Media History Digital Library Project 

  • Open access to over 200,000 digitized pages of public domain media industry trade papers and fan magazines, including Moving Picture World (1912-1918), Film Daily (1918-1936), Photoplay (1917-1940), Radio Broadcast (1922-1930), and much more.

Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era:1907-1927 Lock Icon

  • For anyone studying the early years of American cinema, the most important research tools are the film periodicals of the era. The Moving Picture World began publication in 1907 and appeared weekly until January 1928, when it became Exhibitors Herald and Moving Picture World. It reviewed current releases and published news, features, and interviews relating to all aspects of the industry.

Periodical's Index Online Lock Icon

Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 6,000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. It enables researchers quickly to locate every article relevant to their particular field of study.

Picture Post Historical Archive Lock Icon

The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive of the Picture Post from its first issue in 1938 to its last in 1957 - all digitized from originals in full colour.

Reader's Guide Retrospective Lock Icon

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. While it includes Film & Television, it also includes many other subjects such: Antiques, Arts, Business, Computers, Crafts, Dance & Drama, Education, Entertainment, Fashion, Literature, News & Current Events, Photography, and more.

Vogue Archive Lock Icon 

The Vogue Archive contains the backfile of Vogue magazine (US edition), spanning the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.

Connecting to Library Resources

  • The Lock Icon icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. 
  • For help with VPN & connecting off-campus visit https://www.lib.uci.edu/connect.