Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Encyclopedias + Dictionaries
Routledge Encyclopedia of Films
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Films comprises 200 essays by leading film scholars analysing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time. Arranged alphabetically, each entry explores why each film is significant for those who study film and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the film was produced. Ranging from Hollywood classics to international bestsellers to lesser-known representations of national cinema, this collection is deliberately broad in scope crossing decades, boundaries and genres. The encyclopedia thus provides an introduction to the historical range and scope of cinema produced throughout the world.
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Encyclopedia covers national cinemas and major genres.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies
Fast track your research using these authoritative bibliographies compiled by leading scholars in the field.
Emergence of Cinema: the American Screen to 1907
Provides an overview of the beginnings of cinema through the first boom in the specialized moving-picture theaters known as nickelodeons, looking at the initial years of projected motion pictures and their aural accompaniment from 1895 to the fall of 1907. Early American cinema is examined as an industry and as an influential cultural practice in the context of a centuries-long history of projected images.
International Dictionary of Film and Filmmakers
Provides thorough coverage of films and filmmakers, including legendary films, actors and actresses, directors, writers and other production artists. Entries include a detailed essay written by an expert; biographies; filmographies; comprehensive credits; major awards; and updated bibliographies, as well as photographs. General and professional audiences.
Critical dictionary of film and television theory
This dictionary covers the approaches deployed in the study of the moving image as well as defining key theoretical terms.
Oxford Handbook of Cinema & Media Studies
provides a single-volume source of original scholarship on the intersection of film and media studies. Some essays survey particular issues, such as the changing concept of 'realism' in film. Others look at current media practices with special attention to new media.
The SAGE handbook of media studies
Media and communication research is a diverse and stimulating field of inquiry, not only in subject matter but also in purposes and methodologies. This handbook surveys and evaluates the theories, practices, and future of the field.
Computer games and new media cultures : a handbook of digital games studies (eBOOK ON ORDER)
This handbook aims to reflect the relevance and value of studying digital games, now the subject of a growing number of studies, surveys, conferences and publications. As an overview of the current state of research into digital gaming, the 42 papers included in this handbook focus on the social and cultural relevance of gaming
Routledge Handbook to Media Industries
Bringing together 49 chapters from leading experts in media industries research, this major collection offers an authoritative overview of the current state of scholarship while setting out proposals for expanding, re-thinking and innovating the field.
TV Print Reference at Langson Library
Film Literature Bibliographies (Books)
Connecting to Library Resources