Welcome! This page includes resources to support students in Professor Kamil's FMS 139W course this Fall Quarter 2021. Remember that if you have any questions about doing research or using library resources, you can always book a virtual or in-person appointment with me for help! Or if you want immediate assistance, UCI Libraries has a 24/7 Chat Service, too! Slides from the presentation are available here.
Encyclopedias and handbooks are excellent resources to get started on your research because they provide you with topical overviews that are (1) shorter than scholarly articles and (2) written a in language that is meant for novice researchers learning about a new topic or field of study. They often include excellent bibliographies to help you identify core books/articles to continue your reading. Some examples are below to get you started.
Encyclopedias & Handbooks:
Think of the various chapters in a book as similar in scope to scholarly articles. You do not have to read a book cover-to-cover to enhance your understanding on a topic. Instead, pick the most interesting chapters to you, ready closely, and trace some of the footnotes/citations which will help you discover more sources to delve a little deeper and identify key scholars and resources. Below are just a few books that might inspire your topic or research, but try UC Library Search or WorldCat for more advanced searching.
Tip: Keywords are the easiest way to search, but sometimes subject headings can really help you to narrow down your results. Here are some examples:
The library subscribes to/pays for many different multidisciplinary and specialist databases which is the best way to discover and access resources such as scholarly, peer-reviewd research articles, magazine and news articles, trade publications, book reviews, dissertations, and more!
Depending on your topic, you may want to try searching on various databases as each of them will index (provide information about) different journals and resources. There is no "one size fits all" when it comes to academic research. Although Google Scholar can be a good starting point, it only indexes publications and will lead you back to the library's resources to access the full-text of most articles. I have linked some helpful databases you may want to try searching on to get you started.
Another way to search for scholarly articles is to discover discipline-specific journals and run keyword searches directly within the journals themselves. These are just a few peer-reviewed academic journals related to some of the themes in your course, but you can also try "Journals at UCI" to search for a specific journal title.
Peer reviewed. Launched in 1993, this OA journal has published over 600 essays, reviews and interviews. It has not published an issue since 2017.
First Monday (1996)
New Media & Society (1999)
Social Media & Society (2015)
News sources (historical and current) can be excellent sources for your research as they may include quality reporting as well as a variety of voices through opinion editorials on certain issues. Below are a few US based newspaper sources available online through the libraries, but you can also find many more nationally and internationally by visiting the Newspapers Guide. Did you know? Access the New York Times (NYT) online for FREE, compliments of UCI Libraries!
Why do we cite? It is important to give credit to the intellectual labor of others, and we do this by citing their work through citations in two places: throughout the text (such as in-text citations or footnotes) and at the very end of the text (a works cited or bibliography). The rules for citing vary by discipline -- humanities scholars may be citing differently than social sciences or mathematics scholars -- but they ultimately serve the same goals:
Elements of a citation: Most Citations include various information to provide all the details necessary to locate a source.
A few helpful resources for citing in MLA (Modern Languages Association) Style Guide:
Works Cited: BOOK
Basic Format: Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date/
Three + Authors:
Works Cited: SCHOLARLY ARTICLES
Format for Print: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.
Format for Online: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages, URL or DOI. Access date.
Works Cited: WEBSITE
Format: Author, or compiler name (if available). Name of Site. Name of institution/organization affiliated with the site (sponsor or publisher), date of resource creation (if available), DOI (preferred), otherwise include a URL or permalink. Date of access (if applicable).
During my presentation, I went over a few fun library perks to know about! Here are the links:
Off-campus? Please use the Software VPN and choose the group UCIFull to access licensed content. For more information, please Click here
Software VPN is not available for guests, so they may not have access to some content when connecting from off-campus.