Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Databases @ UCI Libraries
Film and Media Studies scholarship is published in many different types of journals and resources. The databases on this page are arranged by disciplinary focus to help you navigate and prioritize your search strategy. Please note that many only index journal articles which means that you'll have to use the UC-eLinks button to do an automated search to find the full text, or search for the journal title Library Search by selecting "Journals @ UCI". If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
Core Film & Media Studies Databases
Cross-Search: Film & Media Studies Databases
Cross-searches AFI Film Catalog, Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, Performing Arts Periodicals, Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
International Index to Film Periodicals (FIAF)
This index offers coverage of academic and popular film journals by searching in the International Index to Film Periodicals from 1972 to the present day. Includes Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Indexes journals related to most aspects of the arts, including film, dance, and drama. Good for finding reviews.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
“An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.”
Art & Architecture Source
Mostly indexes fine art journals but can be helpful in locating information on experimental film, cinematography, and animation studies
Film Literature Index (FLI)
Resource for film research with citations to film, television and video articles and reviews. The Online Version covers citations from 1976-2001. Citations to articles and reviews from 2002- are available in print in the Langson Library Reference area.
NEW: BrowZine (Launched October 2019)
Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data and more.
Provides access to more than 5,800 full-text sources, including foreign and U.S. newspapers, magazine and trade journals, broadcast transcripts, and more
Business Source Complete
Business articles database that includes books, case studies, company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more.
Humanities Scholarly & News Article Databases
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and news articles on a variety of topics. Good for popular culture topics.
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Alternative Press Index and Archive
This indexes social movement periodicals from 1991 to today. Archive of Alternative Press Index (1969-1990), indexing social movement periodicals, with links to full-text where available.
Abstracts about 1,500 items annually on information about communication-related publications worldwide. Use this database to research mass media topics.
Ethnic News Watch (full text)
Provides full text articles from 261 newspapers and magazines published by the ethnic, minority, and native U.S. press from 1960 to the present.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations
Open Access Publications
Open access forums, journals, and less formal publication venues that contain emerging scholarship in media studies.
"[A] collectively authored media and cultural studies blog committed to timely yet careful analysis of texts, news, and events from across the popular culture spectrum." Closed in 2016, but archived content still available.
Launched in 2004, Flow is an online journal of television and media studies. Flow‘s mission is to provide a critical forum where scholars, teachers, students, and the general public can read about and discuss the changing landscape of contemporary media.
In Media Res
Dedicated to experimenting with collaborative, multi-modal forms of online scholarship. Their goal is to promote an online dialogue amongst scholars and the public about contemporary approaches to studying media.
[in]Transition: A Media Commons and Cinema Journal Project
[in]Transition – a collaboration between MediaCommons and the Society for Cinema and Media Studies’ official publication, Journal of Cinema & Media Studies – is the first peer-reviewed academic journal of videographic film and moving image studies, and is fully open access with no fees to publish or read.
The University of Southern California Journal of Film and Television, available online 1997-present.
Transformative Works and Cultures (TWC)
TWC is an international, peer-reviewed journal which publishes articles about transformative works, broadly conceived; articles about media studies; and articles about the fan community.
Connecting to Library Resources