Film and Media Studies

Published bibliographies are excellent starting points in the research process. UCI Libraries subscribes to a resource called 'Oxford Bibliographies Online' (OBO) which offers authoritative research guides across a variety of subject areas. These entries are annotated bibliographies that offer you comprehensive lists of the best scholarship across a variety of subjects. (They will list for you the core textbooks, journals and articles, books, and more to read on a sub-topic). Take a look at a few examples relevant to this course below:

Latino Studies:

• Film
• US Spanish language Radio
• Telenovelas
•  Spanish-Language Newspapers
• Public Radio
• Popular Culture
• Comics

Cinema + Media Studies:

• Latina/o Americans in Film and Television
• Immigration and Cinema 
  • Latina/o Representation and Border Cinema
• Spanish Language Television

African American Studies:

• Afro-Latinos

Latin American Studies:

• Popular Culture and Globalization

A list of recommended Latinx Studies anthologies, readers, monographs, and edited volumes. Some of these are in print only, while others are available online and in print. You can also request single scans in UC Library Search for individual chapters of books when you sign into your account with your UCI net ID.

BACK TO MENU.

UC Library Search

UC Library Search is the easiest way to find and discover books. To make it a bit easier, when you enter keywords into UC Library Search, use the filters on the left-hand side and select "books" and "book chapters" as the format, and also pay attention to publication year.

Project Muse eBooks

Search for thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Google Books

Google Books contains millions of digitized books beyond UCI Library. You can use it as a "discovery tool" . For example, you can keyword search an artist's name to see where they appear in various chapters of books. Only public domain (out of copyright) books are available as full-text in this tool, so check the library for the full-text copy.

Finding Books in the Library Stacks

Sometimes, it is nice to browse the print collection available locally on campus. Because this course can be interdisciplinary in nature, you may be looking at multiple sections in the library (history, social sciences, humanities, communication, film studies, and more). Here are a few starting points to browse the library stacks:

BACK TO MENU.

• For visual screenshots contextualizing this, please visit: https://tinyurl.com/keyword-subject-search.
• A keyword search: will search the author, title, subject, and other descriptors of the book, article, or other resource in the search results. Every time you search in Google, that is an example of a keyword search (the natural language and terms we come up with). Keyword searches are easy to use but sometimes you get too many results or results that are way off topic.
• Subject Heading search: Subject headings function like #hashtags do on Instagram, except that the terms are pre-defined by a published set of vocabularies that librarians use. Subject headings are assigned to books and articles to describe their 'aboutness'. What is also very useful as a researcher is that subject headings are maintained by Library of Congress and so the same terms you use for research at UCI Libraries could be applied at other research libraries in North America.
• Critical Viewpoint: Because Subject Headings were first created a very long time ago, sometimes the terms and concepts are outdated and inappropriate. There is an amazing documentary about this that looks at a grassroots approach students at Dartmouth made in changing the subject heading "illegal alien" Watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1SroscdR7-Y. 

Examples of Subject Headings for this Course:

Pop Culture

Latinx Pop Culture (book series)
Mexican Americans in popular culture

Media
Hispanic American Mass Media
Hispanic Americans in Mass Media
Hispanic Americans -- Press Coverage -- United States
Mexican Americans -- Press Coverage -- United States

Motion Pictures & Television
Hispanic Americans in the motion picture industry
Hispanic Americans on television
Mexican Americans in motion pictures

Border Politics
Children of immigrants -- Education -- California
Deportation -- California
Emigration and immigration law  -- United States
Immigrant Families -- United States -- Social Conditions
Immigrant Families -- Law and legislation -- United States
Mexican Americans -- Political Activity
Noncitizens -- California -- Social Conditions

BACK TO MENU.