Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fall 2019 - 139W - Writing on Film & Media - Sports Media - Professor Johnson
How do we write about sports, as Film and Media Studies scholars? What are the key questions we should ask when we write about sports media? What is sports media (generically, textually, socially)? This writing-intensive course allows close examination and application of different approaches to thinking and writing critically about and conducting research regarding sports media.
Resources to get you started!
Encyclopedias and handbooks are excellent resources to get started on your research because they provide you with topical overviews that are (1) shorter than scholarly articles and (2) written a in language that is meant for novice researchers learning about a new topic or field of study. They often include excellent bibliographies to help you identify core books/articles to continue your reading. Some examples are below to get you started but you can always make an appointment with me if you are feeling overwhelmed.
Handbook of Sports and Media by
Publication Date: 2006
Covers the breadth of sports and media scholarship, bridging media entertainment, sports management, and popular culture. Organized into historical, institutional, spectator, and critical studies perspectives, this volume brings together the work of many researchers into one volume, defining the full scope of the subject area.
Routledge handbook of sport and new media by
Publication Date: 2014
Provides a comprehensive and in-depth study of the impact of new media in sport. Adopting a broad, interdisciplinary approach, the book explores new media in sport as a cultural, social, commercial, economic, and technological phenomenon, examining the profound impact of digital technologies on that the way that sport is produced, consumed and understood.
Sports in America: Recreation, Business, Education and Controversy (2006)
Discusses organized athletics and examines sports participation by Americans and its impact on health and society. Looks at professional sports, college and high school sports, and the Olympics, as well as controversial issues such as drug use, gambling, corruption, and the commercialization of amateur athletics.
Encyclopedia of Communication & Information (2002)
Provides a comprehensive overview of universal modes of communication, the media used to communicate, theories of communication and their implications, careers in communications and information, and biographies of notable figures in the field. Organized for the general reader and designed to complement social studies, communications, and information systems curricula.
The library subscribes to/pays for many different multidisciplinary and specialist databases which is the best way to discover and access resources such as scholarly, peer-reviewd research articles, magazine and news articles, trade publications, book reviews, dissertations, and more!
Depending on your topic, you may want to try searching on various databases as each of them will index (provide information about) different journals and resources. There is no "one size fits all" when it comes to academic research. Although Google Scholar can be a good starting point, it only indexes publications and will lead you back to the library's resources to access the full-text of most articles. I have linked some helpful databases you may want to try searching on to get you started.
Business & Industry Databases
Industry reports on U.S. and International companies including market share, SWOT (strengths; weaknesses; opportunities;threats) analysis, and volume/value forecasts.
Business Source Complete
Business articles database that includes books, case studies, company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports, market research reports, and more.
Industry research reports on U.S. industries. Each report discusses market characteristics, segmentation, and industry conditions.
Try "Journals at UCI" to search for a specific journal title.
Journal of Sports Business Media (Online available from 2006-Current)
A peer-reviewed scholarly journal which provides a broad-based exploration of the field and promotes a greater understanding of sports media in terms of their practices, value, and effect on the culture as a whole. The journal features scholarly articles, essays, book reviews, and reports on major conferences and seminars. While the majority of the articles are academic in nature, it also includes articles from industry leaders and sports media figures on topics appealing to a nonacademic audience.
Communication & Sport (Online available from 2013-Current)
A peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes research to foster international scholarly understanding of the nexus of communication and sport. This journal publishes research and critical analysis from diverse disciplinary and theoretical perspectives to advance understanding of communication phenomena in the varied contexts through which sport touches individuals, society, and culture.
Other Journals that might be useful in your research topic:
Critical Studies in Media Communication
- A peer-reviewed academic journal covering media and mass communication from a cultural studies and critical perspective.
Feminist Media Studies
- A peer-reviewed academic journal with a transdisciplinary, transnational forum for researchers pursuing feminist approaches to the field of media and communication studies, with attention to the historical, philosophical, cultural, social, political, and economic dimensions and analysis of sites including print and electronic media, film and the arts, and new media technologies.
International Journal of the History of Sport
- A peer-reviewed journal covering sport history is the world’s leading sport history including global and regional coverage including the Americas, Africa, Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, Europe, and from 2012 the Middle East.
International Review for the Sociology of Sport
- A peer-reviewed academic journal which disseminate research and scholarship on sport throughout the international academic community. The journal publishes research articles of varying lengths, from standard length research papers to shorter reports and commentary.
Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly
- A peer-reviewed academic journal that covers the field of communication and journalism.
Journal of Sport & Social Issues
- A peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the field of sociology bringing you the latest research, discussion and analysis on contemporary sport issues.
Sociology of Sport Journal
- A peer-reviewed academic journal framed by social theory, on exercise, sport, physical culture, and the (physically active) body. Analyses from diverse theoretical and methodological perspectives are encouraged to stimulate further research, critical thought, and theory development on topics ranging in broad scope from global professional sport, coaching, commercial exercise/fitness, and recreational physical activity.
Television and New Media
- A peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the field of communication
Women in Sport & Physical Activity Journal
- A peer-reviewed journal that provides a forum for scholarship advancing our understanding of women in sport and physical activity.
Trade publications cater to a specific industry or trade - they are also referred to as trade magazines. UCI Libraries does not subscribe online to Street & Smith's SportsBusiness Journal, but there are other trade publications you may come across when searching in several of the databases listed on this course guide.
Sport Management Review
Serves as an outlet for sport industries worldwide. It is a multidisciplinary journal concerned with the management, marketing, and governance of sport at all levels and in all its manifestations
Sport Marketing Quarterly
Serves as an outlet for the dissemination of sport marketing information for both practicing professionals and academicians.
News sources (historical and current) can be excellent sources for your research as they may include quality reporting as well as a variety of voices through opinion editorials on certain issues in sports and the media. Below are a few US based newspaper sources available online through the libraries, but you can also find many more nationally and internationally by visitng the Newspapers Guide.
Did you know? Access the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) and New York Times (NYT) online for FREE, compliments of UCI LIbraries.
Association for Women in Sports Media
A volunteer-managed nonprofit founded in 1987 as a support network and advocacy group for women who work in sports writing, editing, broadcast and production, and public and media relations.
Sports Data Resources via American Statistical Association
A listing of data resources and online sports statistics forums for a number of sports, available online. NOTE: Some of these web pages may be dated but some are still functioning wonderfully.
Sports Radio Interviews
Transcripts and audio of sports interviews around the nation.
Message boards and industry talk.
Easy to use sports statistics.
Online resource for sports photography.
Browse upcoming soccer, tennis, hockey, basketball, handball, volleyball and baseball fixtures, results & other sport statistics.