Film and Media Studies

These are just a few recommended journals to consult. You can run a keyword search within these journals, or pay attention when you're searching on databases to the publications that you're seeing, noting some of these journals in particular.

1. Latino Studies Journal: explores Latino/a culture at the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric levels. This journal illuminates the struggles of Latinas and Latinos for equality, representation, and social justice.
2. Aztlan: a Journal of Chicano Studies (1970-): Presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. It focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts.Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.
3. Chicana/Latina Studies (1997-): An interdisciplinary publicationof a feminist Chicana/Latina and Native women's academic organization, Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social (MALCS, Women Active in Research and Social Change). It aims to provide space for those historically marginalized and the journal is receptive to all scholarly methods and theoretical perspectives that examine, describe, analyze, or interpret the experiences of Chicanas/Latinas and Native women.
4. Centro (1987-): Dedicated entirely to the field of Puerto Rican Studies. It publishes the latest work from scholars in a wide range of academic traditions, in order to enhance and advance the field of Puerto Rican Studies.
5. Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures (1976-): Dedicated to both critical inquiry and cultural expression. Chiricú showcases new scholarship from diverse disciplines as well as creative works of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, the visual arts, interviews, personal essays, and reviews of books, film, and exhibitions. 
6. Afro-Hispanic Review (1982) The Afro-Hispanic Review, an academic journal of Afro-Hispanic literature and culture, is published by the Department of Spanish and Portuguese at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. The journal’s mission is to promote the study of Afro-Hispanic literature and culture.

BACK TO MAIN MENU

These databases are excellent resources for getting started. Try running a few keyword searches in more than one to see what articles and results show up! Some are specific to a field of study while others cover all disciplines.

Latino Studies Databases:

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

Provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US since the late 1960s. Includes everything from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. See the list of journals here.

Chicano Database

This databases Indexes a wide variety of materials (journal articles, books, book chapters) on the Mexican-American, Chicano, and the broader Latino experience. Scholarship is dated from 1960s-present. Use the "Get it at UC" link for full-text if not in database, or try ILL.

Film and Media Studies Scholarship:

Film & Media Studies Databases (ProQuest)

This link will cross-search multiple databases in one search: the American Film Institute Film Catalog, the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, Performing Arts Periodicals, Film Index International, and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals.

Communication + Media Studies:

Communication Abstracts

This database covers communication (and media) studies. . Use this database to research mass media topics.

Gender Studies:

GenderWatch 
Alternative press and other hard-to-find articles about gender and sexuality. Coverage varies: mostly 1990s - current

Multidisciplinary Studies:

Academic Search Complete

This database is multidisciplinary so it covers many subject areas. It includes access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals as well as abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. 

JSTOR

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. JSTOR helps people discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content through a powerful research and teaching platform, and preserves this content for future generations

Google Scholar

BACK TO MAIN MENU

• For visual screenshots contextualizing this, please visit: https://tinyurl.com/keyword-subject-search.
• A keyword search: will search the author, title, subject, and other descriptors of the book, article, or other resource in the search results. Every time you search in Google, that is an example of a keyword search (the natural language and terms we come up with). Keyword searches are easy to use but sometimes you get too many results or results that are way off topic.
• Subject Heading search: Subject headings function like #hashtags do on Instagram, except that the terms are pre-defined by a published set of vocabularies that librarians use. Subject headings are assigned to books and articles to describe their 'aboutness'. What is also very useful as a researcher is that subject headings are maintained by Library of Congress and so the same terms you use for research at UCI Libraries could be applied at other research libraries in North America.
• Critical Viewpoint: Because Subject Headings were first created a very long time ago, sometimes the terms and concepts are outdated and inappropriate. There is an amazing documentary about this that looks at a grassroots approach students at Dartmouth made in changing the subject heading "illegal alien" Watch it here.

Examples of Subject Headings for this Course:

Pop Culture

Latinx Pop Culture (book series)
Mexican Americans in popular culture

Motion Pictures & Television
Hispanic Americans in the motion picture industry
Hispanic Americans on television
Mexican Americans in motion pictures
Hispanic Americans in the motion picture industry -- United States -- History -- 20th century

BACK TO MAIN MENU