Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Healthcare

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Healthcare

BCC Research
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Comprehensive reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech industry sectors including: Advanced Materials, Biotechnology, Chemicals, Healthcare, Instrumentation and Sensors, Manufacturing, Membrane and Separation Technology, Nanotechnology, Pharmaceuticals, Photonics, etc.

Frost & Sullivan

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global (limited)

HTML-only industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.

PitchBook
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

  • To get started:  [Left Sidebar] > click on Companies & Deals > Industry 


IBISWorld

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Introductory industry research reports of 30-40 pages on over 700 U.S. industries, including: Healthcare & Social Assistance, and Life Sciences.

Fitch Connect (formerly BMI Research)
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A global intelligence database featuring a Country Risk & Industry Research module with global, regional, and country risk assessments, analysis, and expert commentary on 20+ industries and more than 200 countries and territories that collectively account for 99% of world GDP. The industry and country specific reports provide 5 and 10-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities. Industry reports also feature SWOT analyses.

MarketLine Advantage

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

US and global industry profiles including Porters Five Forces Analysis, and company profiles including SWOT analyses, covering Healthcare and Pharmaceuticals.

Plunkett Research Online

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Market research, industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of top companies. Major industry categories include: Biotechnology, Drugs, Genetics, and Health Care.

PubMed
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

A massive database of over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles.

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

A massive database covering virtually all business subjects. Thousands of entries for both scholarly and trade business and healthcare publications, including: Health Management TechnologyMarketing Health Services, Healthcare Executive, Frontiers of Health Services Management, and Healthcare Financial Management. 

Health Affairs

Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal on the intersection of health, healthcare, and policy. Analysis and discussion on improving health and healthcare, and addressing such issues as cost, quality, and access. Access is via the ProQuest Database with a one-year delay on new content. Articles published in the past year may be requested for free via InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

Health Care Management Review

Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal on topics including finance, marketing, labor relations, cost containment, quality assurance, planning, computers and technology, staff recruitment, pay and benefits, etc.

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)

Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal with articles on a diverse range of medical topics, covering important issues that affect medicine, health, healthcare, and health policy. 

New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)

Access: UCI
A peer-reviewed journal with research articles and key information at the intersection of biomedical science and clinical practice.

Google Scholar
Access: Public

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full-text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

ASM Medical Materials Database
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Materials data to support medical device design. The database features both materials properties and biological response data for medical device designers. Also includes a searchable list of device and material producers. Producers listed may operate in the US and/or around the world, but have medical devices approved by the FDA for use in the US. Content in other sections, such as materials, coatings, and drugs has no region specificity.


​Investext (via Mergent Online)

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

This replaces the Thomson ONE database. Investext (i.e., the Thomson Reuters Embargoed Research Collection) offers analyst research reports from more than 1,700 brokerages, investment banks, and independent research firms around the globe, including Clarivate Analytics' Cortellis Reports, which give a comprehensive overview of medical companies, including their pipeline portfolio.  


PAREXEL Biopharmaceutical R & D Statistical Sourcebook [Print book]
Access: UCI
Located in the Langson Library Reference Collection (Call number: HD9665.4 .P37 2017 ) (Note: Reference books cannot be borrowed.) R&D statistics, trends, and proprietary market intelligence and analyses on the biopharmaceutical industry. Supported by thousands of graphs, illustrations, and analyses, the Sourcebook provides the latest intelligence on every aspect of biopharmaceutical development – from product discovery, to R&D performance and productivity, to time-to-market trends. 

ClinicalTrials.gov
Access: Public

A database, provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.

Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Access: Public

The FDA is responsible for protecting public health by regulating human drugs and biologics, animal drugs, medical devices, tobacco products, food (including animal food), cosmetics, and electronic products that emit radiation. (The FDA's article "Is It Really 'FDA Approved?'" provides a great overview).

HCUPnet
Access: Public

A free, online query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). The system provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties. Includes data (as available) for both diagnoses and procedures.

  • Learn this search!
  • Tip: The ICD-CM (International Classification of Diseases, Clinical Modification) is used to code and classify both diagnoses and procedures. Current and previous versions of the ICD-CM are available through the CDC


MedlinePlus: All Health Topics
Access: Public

MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Most health topics will have a link to statistics.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Data & Statistics
Access: Public
The CDC, in part, identifies and defines preventable health problems in the US. Its Data and Statistics portal is an excellent resource for information on major medical conditions.

National Center for Healthcare Statistics

Access: Public
A subset of the CDC that offers national and state-level data and statistics on major medical conditions, including physician office visits and emergency department visits for a given condition; also covers health care services, insurance, and expenditures.

HealthData.gov
Access: Public

This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all. Find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse.

Want More Statistics?
Advocacy groups (e.g., the American Heart Association) may collect and report more specific statistics than the US government. In Google, try a sample search like this: hearing loss association statistics site:.org

HRSA Data Portal
Access: Public
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is the primary federal agency for improving health care to people who are geographically isolated, economically or medically vulnerable. The HRSA Data Portal enables users to select related datasets to create custom data views, and includes a "Health Care Facilities" dataset. [This dataset is powered by the Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services' Provider of Services data files, which contain characteristics of hospitals and other types of healthcare facilities, including the name and address of the facility and the type of Medicare services the facility provides, among other information.]

California Health and Human Services Agency (CHHS) Open Data Portal
Access: Public

CHHS coordinates the administration of state and federal programs in California. Its Open Data Portal offers non-confidential data on the following topics: Healthcare, Demographics, Facilities and Services, Diseases and Conditions, Environment, and Workforce.

MedLinePlus: Directories

Access: Public
Links to directories for health professionals, services and facilities.

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
: Data

Access: Public
US federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. As of 2016, The ARHQ "Data Resources" page includes a Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, as well as the following data:

KFF: Health Costs
Access: Public

The Health Costs portal features the Annual Survey of Employers, which provides a detailed look at trends in employer-sponsored health coverage including premiums, employee contributions, cost-sharing provisions, offer rates, wellness programs, and employer practices. KFF (formerly known as the Kaiser Family Foundation) is a nonprofit, non-partisan independent public charity, not affiliated with Kaiser Permanente.  

U.S. 
Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA): Heath Care Satellite Account

Access: Public
Measures U.S. health care spending by the diseases being treated (e.g., cancer or diabetes) instead of by the types of goods and services purchased (such as doctor's office visits or drugs).

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Data

Access: Public
US federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. As of 2016, The ARHQ "Data Resources" page includes a Compendium of U.S. Health Systems, as well as the following data:


APCD Council: All-Payer Claims Database
Access: Public

Many U.S. states are establishing databases of health insurance claims information from all health care payers into statewide information repositories. The databases contain eligibility and claims data (medical, pharmacy, and dental) and are used to report cost, use, and quality information. The data consist of “service-level” information based on valid claims processed by health payers. Service-level information includes: charges and payments, the provider(s) receiving payment, clinical diagnosis and procedure codes, and patient demographics.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Access: Public

Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, includes a large portal of Research, Statistics, Data, and Systems to help researchers and policy makers understand the health care system.

National Center for Healthcare Statistics

Access: Public
A subset of the CDC that offers national and state-level data and statistics on major medical conditions, including physician office visits and emergency department visits for a given condition; also covers health care services, insurance, and expenditures.

Health Care Cost Institute (HCCI): Annual Report
Access: Public

An independent, non-profit research institute funded in part by health insurance companies. The freely available Health Care Cost and Utilization Report provides yearly reviews of spending, price, and utilization trends for commercially-insured Americans.

Orange County's Healthier Together: OC Dashboard 
Access: Public

Values and comparisons for over 200 health, social, and economic indicators for Orange County. A product of the OC Health Improvement Partnership (HIP) with input from 40+ member organizations.

Orange County Business Journal: Book of Lists
Access: Public

The "Book of Lists" supplement issue is simply a compilation of all lists published by OCBJ during the previous year, with the following lists (alphabetically) related to healthcare:

  • Dental HMOs/PPOs, Drugmakers, HMOs, Hospitals, Medical Device Makers, and PPOs


Orange County Community Indicators Report
Access: Public

Annual report that measures the overall quality of life in the Orange County community by tracking key indicators, including a chapter on Health.


For a small fee, students and recent grads can join DeviceAlliance, a non-profit organization "focused exclusively on promoting the vitality of Southern California’s medical device community." Membership benefits include a business directory and job listings.

Access Key

Current UCI Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance