Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Market Size & Share

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Market Size & Share

IBISWorld
Access: UCI
Geography: US

U.S. industry reports on 1,000+ established and specialty/niche industries, updated regularly. Reports estimate the past/current/future sizes of these industries, and the market share of key players (when available).

  • For market size, select the Industry at a Glance section in a report.
  • For market share, select the Major Companies and the Competitive Landscape sections in a report.
     

PitchBook
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Includes "Market Size Estimates," for over 140,000 select markets. Search by market name or select from suggested markets. Market size estimates are based on available published sources. Filters allow you to customize estimate by: geography, estimate year, source, date published, and publisher.

  • Market Analysis (left menu) > Market Size Estimates


​Mintel Market Sizes

Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global (limited)

Market size, share (including by brand name), segmentation, CAGR (Compound Annual Growth Rate), and economic data for a wide range of consumer goods categories. Includes 5 years' historical and 5 years' forecast data.

Mintel
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US

U.S. market research reports spanning U.S. sectors for consumer products and lifestyles. Availability of market size and share data varies by industry.

Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Global market research reports spanning major consumer product categories, including market size and market share.


MarketLine Advantage

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Global reports of major industries. Market size data is in the "Market Overview" sections.

Business Source Complete

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Includes content from many business magazines and trade publications, which may give insights into an industry's market size or market share.

  • Sample search: market AND size AND furniture

There are a zillion vendors selling reports about every product or industry imaginable, and the UCI Libraries cannot possibly buy all of them.
Even if you can't afford to buy a report, there's no rule stopping you from citing content in a vendor's free preview!

The TAM - SAM - SOM Model is a useful method of estimating your market size.

  • TAM: Total Attainable Market
  • SAM: Serviceable Available Market
  • SOM: Serviceable Obtainable Market

Learn more about the TAM - SAM - SOM Model starting on page 149 of 
The Handbook of Market Research for Life Science Companies [eBook] Access: UCI. 
(Don't let the title fool you! This book is helpful for ALL industries, not just life sciences.)
 


 Estimating B2B Market Size

In a B2B (business-to-business) market, companies make up your pool of potential customers, or market size.

To estimate the size of a B2B market, you need to determine the number of companies in your target market. 

This can be approximated by creating a list of companies that meet specific criteria (e.g., industry, location, size, etc.)


 Estimating B2C Market Size

In a B2C (business-to-consumer) market, people make up your pool of potential customers, or market size.

To estimate the size of a B2C market, you need to determine the number of people in your target market. 

The following resources can help you approximate the number of people that meet various demographic or behavioral (psychographic) criteria:


​SimplyAnalytics

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Maximum 3 users at once! A mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. Includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending, and business data for the United States. Users have access to SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data, including information on brands, and Claritas PRIZM, which offers market insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data. Register for a free account to save and return to your work.

Mintel
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US

U.S. market research reports spanning U.S. sectors for consumer products and lifestyles. Includes extensive consumer survey data.

IBISWorld
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Brief, downloadable reports on key consumer behavior characteristics and demographics.

  • Industry Research > US Business Environment Profiles


Census Bureau

Access: Public

Population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the United States Census.

Data USA
Access: Public

Visualization engine of U.S. public data. Includes information such as employment, housing, education, diversity, income, transportation, and health based on geography. Allows for easy side-by-side comparison of locations.

Population Reference Bureau
Access: Public
Useful for quickly making estimates based on worldwide population information.

CDC: Data & Statistics
Access: Public
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Data and Statistics portal is an excellent resource for data and information on major medical conditions.


For additional resources for estimating B2C market size, see the Consumers page.

When researching market size and share, it's helpful to understand:
 

1. Market size and share information is not always readily available, especially for small, niche industries. 
 

2. It may be necessary to estimate the market size by:

  • looking at a similar industry that can serve as a “proxy” or benchmark for your industry, or

  • using pieces of information from various sources to estimate the information you’re looking for.
     

3. Determining a company's market share for a product that accomplishes a specific task isn't clear-cut.

  • Companies rarely manufacture a single product (e.g., Apple manufactures phones, computers, watches, etc.).

  • A product rarely serves a single purpose (e.g., an Apple Watch monitors heart rate and counts counts steps).​
     

Bottom line: The exact information you're looking for may not be available, and estimates may need to be made based on the information that is available. 

Access Key

UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance