Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Industry & Market Research

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Industry & Market Research

1. Each of these databases has unique and special content, so explore more than one!

2. For industry-specific databases, the industry focus is noted in brackets next to the title. Ex: [Retail & Consumer]

3. The TOPICS tab is the best starting point for: Healthcare, Biotech, Engineering, and IT & Technology

General Industry Databases

IBISWorld
Access: UCI

Geography: US

Current and historic Industry Reports on 1,000+ established (organized by NAICS code) and specialized/niche
 U.S. industries, including operating conditions, outlook, trends, and key players. Risk Ratings Reports also available for established industries.

Business Source Complete

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

A huge database with millions of articles covering virtually all business subjects. Includes trade articles, academic articles, business news, and industry reports. Very useful for researching small, niche industries!

MarketLine Advantage

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Reports for well-established industries in many countries worldwide, including Porter's Five Forces analyses for those industries across 19 major industrial sectors, covering almost every aspect of business-to-consumer and business-to-business activity.

Plunkett Research Online
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Market research, industry statistics, trends, and in-depth analysis of top companies for broad range of industries.

Fitch Connect
 (formerly BMI Research)
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A global intelligence database featuring a Country Risk & Industry Research module with global, regional, and country risk assessments, analysis, and expert commentary on 20+ industries and more than 200 countries and territories. Industry and country-specific reports provide 5- and 10-year forecasts and in-depth analysis of current risks and future opportunities. Industry reports also feature SWOT analyses.

Industry-Specific Databases

Mintel  [Retail & Consumer]
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates

Geography: US

Industry research reports that address prominent brands, trends, and customer decisions, and give strategic recommendations for companies to improve their position in a market. Market research reports address trends for several major consumer segments.

BCC Research  [Technology & Healthcare]

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Comprehensive reports addressing very specific technological niches across most high-tech and healthcare industry sectors.

Frost & Sullivan  [Technology & Healthcare]
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global (limited)

Industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.

eMarketer​  [Digital & Media]

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Industry and market research data, charts, and reports on topics for everything digital, including: ad spending, advertising, marketing, media device usage, mobile usage, ecommerce, social media, video, and demographics.

Forrester Research  [Information Technology]
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global (limited)

Reports across all nuances and trends of IT. Research Reports include industry news, statistics, and forecasts. "Waves" offer a detailed, comparative analysis of products and services. Use the "premium web interface" link to see UCI's premium subscription content.

Gartner   [Information Technology]
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global (limited)

An IT consulting firm that produces research applicable to all facets of technology and organization. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e. a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e. a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.

Passport Global Market Information Database  [Retail & Consumer]

Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Consumer lifestyle market research reports for 80+ countries.

Sports Market Analytics (SMA)  [Retail & Consumer]
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Fan markets, consumer demographics, participation, and consumer expenditures for nearly all U.S. sports.

Access Key

UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance