Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Lists of Companies

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Lists of Companies

To make a list of companies in an industry, you'll typically need an industry code. These are often NAICS codes.
Find and learn about NAICS codes


​Mergent Intellect
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Public and private company information, as available, for companies worldwide. Particularly useful for building lists of companies and for hierarchical parent/subsidiary relationships (use the Family Tree tab for a company). Advanced Search allows for creating a custom Excel spreadsheet of companies based on criteria like industry, location, size, etc. [Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Pro. Data for both Mergent Intellect and Hoovers Pro comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).] 


​PitchBook
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

  • Select from pre-made lists of companies in emerging industries using the "Emerging Spaces" tool (Learn this search!), or
  • Generate custom lists using your own criteria using the "Companies & Deals" tab on the left menu. 


​Uniworld

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary. Finds both U.S. firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the U.S. Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, revenue, etc. Uniworld also features a "career postings" search option, which is a yes/no indicator that the company has a link on its own website for its own career opportunities.


S&P Capital IQ

Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide.

  • Screening [tab]  >  Companies  >  Select or Search for Criteria.
  • Under the top Help menu, you'll find a phone number for a representative (available 24/7) who can walk you through screening for a list of companies.


GuideStar 

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

GuideStar specializes in nonprofit company intelligence. It covers 2.7 million nonprofits and features: current financial data; IRS forms; visualizations of financial trends for nonprofits; a directory to search for nonprofits by size, cause, and location; and a directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits.

Orange County Business Journal: Book of Lists
Access: UCI
The "Book of Lists" supplement issue is simply a compilation of all lists published by OCBJ during the previous year.

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

This database includes Fortune magazine. This custom URL finds the issues with "Largest U.S. Corporations" in the title (i.e., what Fortune officially calls its Fortune 500 list).

  • Select PDF Full Text to explore inside the magazine. Fortune magazine also breaks down the 500 by industry and by state.


S&P Capital IQ

Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial, executive, and activity information on millions of companies worldwide.

  • Look up the name of an index (e.g., the Dow Jones Industrial Average, S&P 500, etc.) to view and export the current (not historic) list of constituent companies. Learn this search!
     
  • Use the Markets tab  >  Industries for lists of the top U.S. public companies, including ratio data, across these sectors:
    Analysis, Energy, Materials, Industrials, Consumer Discretionary, Consumer Staples, Health Care, Financials, IT, Communication Services, Utilities, and Real Estate.
     
  • The Idea Generation Screens feature premade filters for 200+ company characteristics. Learn this search!

There are dozens of company lists, produced by many different entities.
This page only points to a select few of the most requested/relevant lists for the UCI community.
The INSEAD Libraries has an excellent compilation of many additional lists.

Access Key

Current UCI Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance