Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Consumers

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Behavior & Psychographics

Psychographic refers to personality attributes, values, opinions, attitudes, interests, or lifestyles.


Mintel
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US

Consumer lifestyle reports, including purchasing motivations and product/brand preferences, for the following consumer segments: Affluent Consumers, Baby Boomers, Kids, Men, Millennials, Mothers, Multicultural, Singles, Teens, and Women.

Market research reports in the following consumer-focused industry categories: Automotive, Beauty, Clothing and Footwear, Drink, Financial Services, Food, Foodservice, Health and Wellness, Home, Household Care, Leisure and Entertainment, Lifestyles, Personal Care, Retail, Technology, and Travel.

Passport Global Market Information Database
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Consumer Lifestyles reports on major elements of consumers' living habits for 80+ countries.

eMarketer

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Market research reports, industry data, and charts for everything digital, including consumer usage data for the internet, ecommerce, social media, mobile devices, etc.

SimplyAnalytics 

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Maximum 3 users at once! An easy-to-use interface offering thousands of consumer behavioral data variables that can be used to build custom maps and reports (i.e., spreadsheets). Register for a free account to save and return to your work.

Sports Market Analytics (SMA)

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Market analytics for all three major sports market segments: fan behavior, participants, and sporting goods buyers.

Business Source Complete

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Thousands of full-text articles and bibliographic entries for scholarly business journals and trade publications. Includes the Journal of Consumer Psychology and the Journal of Consumer Research.

IBISWorld

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Brief, downloadable reports on key consumer behavior characteristics (e.g., Travel, Pets, Media use, etc.) that can have a material effect on various industries' performance. 

The Pew Research Center
Access: Public

Reports derived from public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research. Coverage is U.S.

Demographics

Demographics are personal characteristics such as: age, gender, ethnicity, income, educational attainment, etc.


SimplyAnalytics
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Maximum 3 users at once! An easy-to-use interface offering thousands of demographic data variables that can be used to build custom maps and tables. Register for a free account to save and return to your work.

PolicyMap

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Visualize over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more. Data is available at all common geographies (i.e., address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA), as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries.

Social Explorer 

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Maximum 1 user at a time! Visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S. through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Display the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. from 1790 through the present, for the country overall, down to the county level.

MarketLine Advantage

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Macro-level socioeconomic and demographic data for countries worldwide, both historical and forecasted.

Passport Global Market Information Database

Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Demographic reports covering populations, homes, incomes, expenditures, and other consumer trends, for many countries worldwide.

Census Bureau

Access: Public
Population, housing, economic, and geographic information from the United States Census.

IBISWorld
Access: UCI
Geography: US

Brief, downloadable reports on key consumer demographics (e.g., population, poverty rate, marriage rate, number of college students, etc.) that can have a material effect on various industries' performance. 

  • Industry Research > US Business Environment Profiles


The Pew Research Center

Access: Public
Reports derived from public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research. Coverage is U.S.

Population Reference Bureau
Access: Public
Useful for quickly making estimates based on worldwide population information.

Access Key

Current UCI Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance