Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Company Strategy

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Company Strategy

S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including: data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers & acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data.

  • Search for a company  >  [left menu] News, Events, & Filings (scroll down)  >  SEC Filings


​PitchBook

Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global
Especially useful for finding up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.

  • Company profiles can provide useful information about funding activity, growth rates, investors, etc.


Factiva

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites. The Search Builder function has pre-set search terms for competitive intelligence news about companies. News is often one of the only sources for strategy on private companies. 


Business Source Complete

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. News is often one of the only sources of strategy on private companies.

  • Search first only by company name, and add more search terms as needed. 
  • For ambiguous names (e.g., Apple) use: Select a Field (dropdown)  >  CO Company Entity.


Ad$pender
Access: UCI
Geography: US
Advertising expenditures and occurrence information for 3+ million brands across the following media:  

  • Network TV, Cable TV, Syndication, Spot TV, Magazines, Sunday Magazines, Nat'l Newspapers, Newspapers, Network Radio, Nat'l Spot Radio, Outdoor, and Internet Display (note that Internet Display does not offer data on a company's advertising through social media platforms).
     
  • View a PDF user manual here
  • Learn this search!
  • For help with searching in this database, call the Ad$pender New York office (8am – 8pm Eastern): 1-800-497-8450.  Tell Ad$pender that you are with The University of California, Irvine, and that you would like to get help walking through your query from the beginning.

Because of Regulation Fair Disclosureduring quarterly conference calls, public companies often disclose their past quarter's performance, and they usually discuss their future outlook/initiatives. These calls are transcribed, and are known as Earnings Conference Calls or Analyst Calls.

In addition to the databases below, transcripts or recordings are often made available on the Investor Relations page of the company's website.


S&P Capital IQ
Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including: data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers & acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data. Most Earnings Conference Calls feature the recorded audio.

  • Search for a company  >  [left menu] News, Events, & Filings (scroll down)  >  Transcripts


Factiva

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites. The Search Builder function allows for choosing a publication called "CQ FD Disclosure," as well as a company name.  


Nexis Uni (Fomerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Earnings call transcripts are available from the "Fair Disclosure (FD) Wire" publication, since April 2001. 


Regional Business News

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Earnings call transcripts from the Fair Disclosure Wire publication, since November 2005. 

  • Use the Search Within This Publication link on the upper-left side of the screen.

Investext (via Mergent Online)
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

This replaces the Thomson ONE database. Investext (i.e., the Thomson Reuters Embargoed Research Collection) offers analyst research reports from more than 1,700 brokerages, investment banks, and independent research firms globally. Coverage dates as far back as 1982.

  • Learn this search!
  • Content Restrictions: 
    1.  Reports are embargoed for 14 days prior to being made available in this database.  
    2.  Select firms do not permit their reports to be distributed in this database, particularly: Goldman Sachs, Barclays, Jefferies, Moody′s Analytics, Moody′s Investors Services, Morgan Stanley, Morningstar, and UBS. 


Value Line Investment Survey

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Stock reports on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Spans most recent 13 weeks.

Analyzing Analyst Recommendations

Access: Public
Guide from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) that offers insights for interpreting recommendations.

S&P Capital IQ

Access: UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide. While the UCI Libraries' do not subscribe to S&P's Aftermarket Research analyst reports product, Capital IQ has consensus data of analyst estimates for earnings back to 1999.

  • Search for a company  >  [left menu] Estimates  >  CIQ Estimates

More Company Strategy Sources

You can also make educated guesses about a company's strategy by analyzing:

  • the type(s) & location(s) of its job postings
  • its press releases
  • patents it filed
  • companies it merges or partners with

Access Key

UCI - Authorized Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance