Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Company Overviews

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

Company Overviews

S&P Capital IQ
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

A comprehensive company intelligence database, offering granular financial and capital structure information on millions of companies worldwide, including: data and graphs for historic stock prices, searchable SEC filings, mergers & acquisitions activities, and venture capital/private equity data. Also features biographic and professional connection information for millions of business practitioners.

PitchBook
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Profiles on over 3 million companies (including approximately 88,000 publicly traded companies). Especially useful for finding private, startup, and up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. 

  • Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.


Mergent Intellect

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Public and private company information, as available, for companies worldwide. Particularly useful for building lists of companies and for hierarchical parent/subsidiary relationships (use the Family Tree tab for a company). [Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Pro. Data for both Mergent Intellect and Hoovers Pro comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).] 

MarketLine Advantage
Access: UCI

Geography: US & Global

Select public and large private company profiles, spanning most major industries worldwide. Profiles often include a detailed SWOT Analysis.

Passport Global Market Information Database

Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Select public and large private company profiles worldwide, particularly for consumer goods and services. Many profiles include a brief SWOT Analysis

Nexis Uni Company Dossier
Access: UCI

Geography: US & Global

Formerly LexisNexis Academic. The Company Dossier tool offers public and private company information, as available, for companies worldwide. Particularly helpful for hierarchical parent/subsidiary relationships and some executive email addresses, as available.

  • Tip: Search on either the ticker symbol (for public companies) or the company's formal name. 


Uniworld
Access: UCI

Geography: US & Global

A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary. Finds both U.S. firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the U.S. Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue.

PitchBook
Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Especially useful for finding private, startup, and up-and-coming companies in emerging industries. Data and research covering the private investment market, including venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions. Information on companies, deals, investors, and funds. 

  • Users must create an account with their UCI email address. Download limits apply.


Preqin

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

This resource encompasses all of Preqin's private equity and venture capital databases. It provides data on all aspects of the asset class, including fund terms and conditions, fundraising, fund managers, institutional investors, fund performance, deals and exits, service providers, and more. The earliest data tends to be back to the 1980's.

  • Many private startup companies receiving funding are featured in this database.

News is often one of the only sources of information on private companies.
These are news databases:

 

Business Source Complete
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Thousands of news articles from popular and trade sources.

  • Search first only by company name, and add more search terms as needed. 
  • For ambiguous names (e.g., Apple) use: Select a Field (dropdown)  >  CO Company Entity.


Factiva

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Worldwide coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, and business-rich websites.

Access World News

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Full-text news from 600+ U.S. and 700+ international sources, offering viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.


Press Releases
The "Press Release" page on a private company's website, discoverable through Google, is also a critically important resource for private company news.

GuideStar 
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

GuideStar specializes in nonprofit company intelligence. It covers 2.7 million nonprofits and features: current financial data; IRS forms; visualizations of financial trends for nonprofits; a directory to search for nonprofits by size, cause, and location; and a directory to search for people in leadership roles at nonprofits.

National Center for Charitable Statistics
Access: Public

The national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. NCCS builds compatible national, state, and regional databases and develops uniform standards for reporting on the activities of charitable organizations.

IRS: Tax Exempt Organization Search
Access: Public

Find information about a tax-exempt organization’s federal tax status and filings.

The Nonprofit Network

Access: Public
From the Center for Public Integrity. Nonprofits must report money they give to other nonprofits on the public portion of their tax returns. This grant-funded resource mined 850,000+ tax forms filed electronically since 2010 from 250,000+ givers.

Plunkett Research Online

Access: UCI
Geography: US

Includes glossaries, statistics, company profiles and contacts, and industry associations and organizations.

International Organizations Search
Access: Public
From the Union of International Associations (UIA). Detailed information on global civil society bodies and networks (organization contact details, origins, relations, members, bibliography, biographies, events, statistics, etc.).

Uniworld
Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

A global directory in which every company within the database has at least one foreign subsidiary. Finds both U.S. firms operating in foreign countries, and foreign firms operating in the U.S. Searchable on criteria including: industry, employee count, and revenue.

Mergent Intellect

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Public and private company information, as available, for companies worldwide. Particularly useful for building lists of companies and for hierarchical parent/subsidiary relationships (use the Family Tree tab for a company). [Mergent Intellect replaces Hoovers Pro. Data for both Mergent Intellect and Hoovers Pro comes from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B).] 

Passport Global Market Information Database

Access: Current UCI Affiliates
Geography: US & Global

Analytical reports on large global consumer companies' operations in various countries worldwide.

MarketLine Advantage

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

International in scope. Public and select large private company profiles, including SWOT analyses.

Business Source Complete

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Covers virtually all business subjects. Includes financial reports, trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, and market research reports. Often one of the only sources of information on foreign companies.

Access World News

Access: UCI
Geography: US & Global

Full-text news from 600+ U.S. and 700+ international sources, offering viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Often one of the only sources of information on foreign companies.

Unavailable Company Information

Not finding the information you need?
Imagine that you are an executive at a private company.
What information (financial or otherwise) would you share, if it meant your competitors may use it for their own benefit?

                    Companies do not voluntarily share info about themselves, unless:

  • the SEC requires it by law, or
  • they believe disclosure gives them a competitive advantage.

Access Key

Current UCI Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance