Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Entrepreneurship: Entrepreneurship @ UCI

This guide supports UCI’s innovation and entrepreneurship community by connecting users to relevant resources used to conduct research throughout the entrepreneurial process.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/entrepreneurship

On-Campus Resources for Innovation & Entrepreneurship

UCI Beall Applied Innovation (the Cove)
Brings campus-based discoveries together with Orange County’s vibrant business community to support job creation and economic growth. Facilitates connections between UCI and industry, including: entrepreneurs seeking access to university inventions and talent, large corporations looking to tap the school’s research capabilities, and investors wanting to financially support promising new companies.

ANTrepreneur Center
UCI Beall Applied Innovation’s on-campus center that serves UCI student-entrepreneurs and offers free coaching, integrative learning opportunities and open co-working space.

SBDC @ UCI Beall Applied Innovation 
A U.S. Small Business Administration funded program at the Cove that offers no-cost, confidential consulting for high-technology, high-growth, scalable ventures emerging from the local region.

Innovation Advisors
A program at the Cove that connects UCI-affiliated startups with local business leaders who volunteer their time to support the development of the entrepreneurial ecosystem.

UCI Libraries: Multimedia Resources Center (MRC)
The MRC provides UCI students, faculty and staff with 3D printing services, 3D modeling software, 3D scanning equipment and other forms of specialized and multimedia software and tools. The MRC also lends audiovisual equipment (e.g., digital SLR cameras, digital SLR video cameras, tripods, digital sound recorders) to UCI students, faculty and staff with a valid UCI ID, and laptops and mobile devices (e.g., Apple iPads, MacBooks, Acer Chromebooks) to borrowers with a valid UCI student, faculty or staff ID and active UCInetID.

FABWorks
A makerspace, through the Institute for Design and Manufacturing Innovation (IDMI), that hosts a suite of prosumer grade (above consumer grade) technologies covering a wide range of manufacturing processes and is available on a do-it-yourself basis. Available equipment includes: 3-D printers and scanners, networked computer-controlled milling machines, laser cutters, electronics development and diagnostics equipment, industrial sewing machines, and more. 

RapidTech
A state-of-the-art manufacturing facility, part of the Institute for Design and Manufacturing Innovation (IDMI), that provides equipment and expertise in a variety of advanced manufacturing technologies, with a strong emphasis on additive manufacturing techniques. Includes equipment for nearly every additive manufacturing process, from Material Extrusion, to Vat Polymerization, Binder Jetting, Material Jetting and Powder Bed Fusion (metals and polymers). Laser cutters, 3-D scanners and subtractive equipment are also available.

UCI Research Translation Group (RTG)
A vast portfolio of UCI inventions, resulting from the university’s world-class research, that are available for licensing to industry and startups. Managed by UCI Beall Applied Innovation.

Wayfinder
A highly-selective incubator program at UCI Beall Applied Innovation for UCI-affiliated startups that is designed to accelerate venture development by providing teams with space, strategic guidance, and access to funding.

I-Corps @ UCI
A National Science Foundation-funded program at the Cove that trains individuals to broaden the impact of UCI research projects by providing the infrastructure, training and funding to assess their commercial opportunity.

SBIR/STTR
​SBIR and STTR grants provide non-dilutive federal funding and encourage small businesses to engage in research and development with high commercialization potential. UCI Beall Applied Innovation hosts SBIR/STTR workshops to walk you through all the steps towards submitting a successful SBIR/STTR application.

TechPortal Orange

A business technology incubator at the UCI Medical Center that incubates startup companies that are based on UCI intellectual property and hosts external companies to enable and foster their interactions with UCI faculty and staff.

University Lab Partners
A wet-lab incubator, University Lab Partners is an independent, non-profit project of the Beall Family Foundation, founded in partnership with UCI Beall Applied Innovation. Enables life science and medtech companies to access unique research capabilities and a network of technical, business, and talent resources at an economical cost.

New Venture Competition
Open to all UCI students, staff members, and researchers, as well as community members. The UCI New Venture Competition offers you the opportunity to form a team, launch a startup, and potentially fund a business idea – all within seven months.

Beall Student Design Competition at The Henry Samueli School of Engineering

Open to all UCI students. Offered to encourage the creation of new technologies, or solutions to current design problems that have the potential for commercialization. Ideas and products are evaluated on their technological merits as well as potential to impact the marketplace. Students are encouraged to submit new product ideas that involve the development of hardware and devices.

Butterworth Product Development Competition at the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences

Open to all UCI students. Designed to encourage the creation of new technologies with potential for commercialization. Ideas and products are evaluated on their technological merits and potential to impact the marketplace. Students are encouraged to submit new products that involve the development of software and systems.

UC Startup Innovation Challenge

Open to virtually anyone with a UC connection, including students, alumni, faculty, staff, postdocs and visiting scholars across the 10-campus University system, its medical centers, and affiliated national labs. Participants will gain exposure to global funder and investor networks, increase visibility for corporate collaborations, and be reviewed by world-class VC judges.

Master of Innovation and Entrepreneurship
The only program of its kind in the UC system, the MIE program provides students with knowledge on core topics on the process of innovation and entrepreneurship, including identifying new venture opportunities through lean startup methodology, developing a business model, preparing a business plan, assembling a team, raising the necessary financing including venture capital, and launching a new business.

Master of Engineering
This program is focused on preparing graduates for employment and entrepreneurship through leadership training. The curriculum is designed to develop technical managers in large companies and entrepreneurs launching their own enterprises.

MBA Certificate in Innovation and Entrepreneurship

A specialized certificate program, through the Paul Merage School of Business, that provides MBA students with academic and practical training to gain a solid understanding of launching and/or growing a business in today’s competitive environment.

Undergraduate Minor in Innovation and Entrepreneurship

A minor degree program, through the Paul Merage School of Business, that provides undergraduate students with core knowledge and practical experience on certain core topics on the process of innovation and entrepreneurship (i.e., planning a new venture, lean startup methodology, venture capital, private equity, etc.).

Innovation & Product Development Certificate 
(UCI Division of Continuing Education)
Online program designed to develop the knowledge and skills necessary to move through the creativity and innovation process and take new ideas to the commercial marketplace. Throughout this program, learn to think about designing new or updated products, services or processes, the logistics of implementing those ideas, and how to do it all in the corporate environment or entrepreneurial space.

Accelerated Certificate Program: Innovation Management & Entrepreneurship
 (UCI Division of Continuing Education: International Programs)
Using proven methods of innovation and design thinking as a framework, students in this unique program will learn new ways to generate ideas, gain deeper insights into their clients, manage creative teams, and drive growth in companies large and small. Whether working in a large corporate environment, mid-size company or as an entrepreneur, this program will equip all of those in innovative fields to take it to the next level.

GPS-STEM Certificate
In collaboration with UCI Graduate Professional Success STEM (GPS-STEM) Program and UCI Beall Applied Innovation, the Business Concepts for STEM Scientists Certificate Program is an introductory 8-week mini course for PhD students and postdocs in STEM disciplines. Through the series’ workshops, activities, discussions and guest speakers, participants will be introduced to the fundamental concepts underlying any company with concepts applicable to both industry and academia.

UCI Beall Applied Innovation (the Cove)
Brings campus-based discoveries together with Orange County’s vibrant business community to support job creation and economic growth. Facilitates connections between UCI and industry, including: entrepreneurs seeking access to university inventions and talent, large corporations looking to tap the school’s research capabilities, and investors wanting to financially support promising new companies.

The Beall Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship
A Paul Merage School of Business Center for Excellence aimed at providing education and hands-on experience for students to learn about entrepreneurship and equip them with the knowledge and resources needed to launch a successful business.

Calit2
A two-campus (UCI and UCSD), multidisciplinary research institute with the goal to develop innovative information technology-based products and services to benefit society and ignite economic development in the region and state.

UCI Beckman Laser Institute & Medical Clinic
A biomedical optics center that develops technologies, participates in research and provides access to clinical procedures.

Institute for Clinical and Translational Science
A research institute dedicated to advancing scientific discovery and medical breakthroughs, accelerating discoveries from the lab and translating them into life-altering medical care.

Institute for Design and Manufacturing Innovation
A research institute with the goal to promote excellence in advanced manufacturing through strategic integration of research, education and community outreach.

Institute for Future Health
A research institute that brings together researchers and practitioners working on cybernetic health to disrupt the healthcare industry and provide a more effective and efficient approach to health management.

Access Key

Current UCI Affiliates
Access requires an active UCInetID and password.


UCI
Access is available to all users physically on the UCI campus.

Remote access is available to users with active UCInetID and password using the VPN.


Public
Access is generally available to all users.

Connect

Electronic Resources:
How to Connect


Connecting FAQs:


Test My VPN Connection


Usage Policy
& Guidance

OC Resources


Want more?

Check out UCI Beall Applied Innovation's list of 10 Orange County Resources for Entrepreneurs