Reviews terrorist bombing attacks in London and Paris and chemical attack in Tokyo for lessons in prevention and mitigation; resolving vulnerabilities; developing emergency response plans. Also considers the cost effectiveness factor.
Designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers ASCE documents published since 1970. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers.
ASTM Compas is the major database for standards issued by the American Society for testing and materials. Includes full text current and historical standards, and all other publications issued by ASTM: e-books, symposia, journal articles.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Collection consists of bulletins from the CA Dept of Water Resources and its predecessor agencies ranging from 1922 to 2000. These bulletins present findings from hundreds of investigations conducted throughout Calif.
Topics represented in this collection include: water quality, flood control, water distribution, water conservation, water usage, and drought as well as some geology. The collection also contains materials pertaining to the creation and operation of the Central Valley Project, the California State Water Project, and their component units. Work in progress by Claremont Colleges.
Included in this series is some of the earliest published work on strong-motion earthquake accelerograms, and considerable research springing from the San Fernando, Whittier Narrows, Landers and Northridge earthquakes. Publication continues to the present
Describes a "best practices" approach to security that presents operators with a menu of security options from which they can choose the best combination of security measures for their particular situation, especially regarding terrorist-related threats.
Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ec
Interactive image map display of global seismicity allowing monitoring of earthquakes in real-time. Updated every 30 minutes. Shows earthquake events for five years after date of event. Can click on event for full particulars.
This new climate change related site has the potential to be a break-through communications tool. The objectives for this project are: 1. To generate multimodal compositions on the subject of climate change 2. To engage with various dimensions and issues associated with sustainability 3. To produce and distribute the 'Inside the Greenhouse' program
We work to deepen our understanding of how issues associated with climate change are/can be communicated, by creating artifacts through interactive theatre, film, fine art, performance art, television programming, and appraising as well as extracting effective methods for multimodal climate communication. The centerpiece of this project is the Inside the Greenhouse (ITG) television program, featuring a high-profile figure engaged in climate and environment issues (stay tuned for our upcoming schedule). As part of the programming, we also feature work produced in the associated 'Inside the Greenhouse' course at the University of Colorado-Boulder.
The interdisciplinary approach taken up in this ITG collective seeks to capture, value and interrogate the complexity of multi-scale and contemporary climate science, policy and politics as well as the challenges of performance and communication of these issues. Our motivations here spring from an expansive view of climate science and policy in society, where more formal scientific and policy work is part of, rather than separate from, public uptake. Representational practices of various sorts play key roles in interpretation, framing climate change for policy, politics and the public, and drawing attention to how to make sense of the changing world. Mediated portrayals - from television news to live performance - are critical links between people's everyday realities and experiences, and the ways in which these are discussed at a distance between science, policy and public actors.
The chosen title of the project - Inside the Greenhouse - acknowledges that, to varying degrees, we are all implicated in, part of, and responsible for greenhouse gas emissions into the atmosphere. So in these collective endeavors we treat this 'greenhouse' as a living laboratory, an intentional place for growing new ideas and evaluating possibilities to confront climate change through a range of mitigation and adaptation strategies.
Indexes articles in computers, electronics, biomedical control, electrical and ocean engineering, and physics, including geophysics, astronomy, and acoustics. Also good for conference proceedings, IEEE standards, and links to e-journals.
Particular focus on transit agencies' concerns in developing programs in response to terrorist attacks. Additional reports will be published as completed; individual volumes are available for download.
Includes a list of federal agencies that offer on-site training and technical assistance, as well as a roster of cybersecurity programs offered by universities, private companies, and government agencies, and a summary table showing federal assistance sources for state DOT security issues.
A web-based mapping and data visualization application that lets users create interactive maps, charts, and reports. It includes demographic, housing, employment, consumer spending (CEX) and more than 20 million detailed business profiles from Dun & Bradstreet (D&B). Users have access to SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior data with information on over 8,000 brands and 450 unique categories. Claritas PRIZM is also available with the most comprehensive and precise insights using demographics and consumer lifestyle data.
Consortium of eight academic institutions in partnership with USGS and JPL coordinating research on earthquake hazards and earthquake information. Links to databases, work groups and published research.
Springer Verlag & Kluwer published output. Abstracts and full text of over 1200 journals in the sciences published by Springer-Verlag Publishers. Full text coverage: 1997 to the present with more retrospective being added. Platform expanded to include Springer Books.
Strategic Behavior and the Environment provides a platform for various disciplines that jointly contribute to our understanding of strategic behavior in design and implementation of environmental policy. The first issue volume 1 Issue 1 is available free. Click on the links below to access the papers.
An international database and gallery of structures including bridges, skyscrapers, towers, dams and off-shore structures. All periods of history are covered from the pyramids of ancient Egypt and Gothic cathedrals to the most daring bridges of today.
Newsletter on various aspects of new technologies for various methods of transportation including drones, self-driving vehicles, motorcycles, air safety, ride sharing trends, and other issues related to disasters and transportation options & safety.
The TRB issues several important publications - including the Journal, Transportation Record (https://uci.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/view/action/uresolver.do?operation=resolveService&package_service_id=9172845930004701&institutionId=4701&customerId=4700); News Magazine (http://www.trb.org/Publications/Public/Publications.aspx); and the E-Newsletter (http://www.trb.org/Publications/Public/PubsTRBENewsletter.aspx) and the State of the Art Report Series (http://www.trb.org/Publications/Public/PubsStateoftheArtReports.aspx)
This is designed to be an accessory for users of Water Resources Abstracts available through the Internet Database Service. It is intended to be a starting point for many other water related Internet sites.
Group's mission is to help reduce future earthquake losses by providing a forum to advance earthquake programs throughout the western region. Contains events calendar, public policy center, affiliates list, tsunami center, and earthquake information.
Delivers the full text of over 300 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals, plus major reference works, the acclaimed Current Protocols laboratory manuals, and even the full text of select Wiley print books online.