Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Dance: Scholarly Journal Articles

Starting points for research in dance
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/dance

Dance Databases

Use these databases to find research articles for your projects and papers. Make sure you try searching in different databases as each database provides different information.
 

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text * is a good database to start searching for dance research articles. It includes records for over 60,000 journal articles, book chapters, dissertations and other sources of information that have been published all over the world.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (previously International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA)) * draws content from more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. The database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, and magic.

 

Interdisciplinary Databases

These databases aren't focused on dance, but many of them provide excellent information on particular topics within dance.

 

Academic Search Completeis a large multidisciplinary database with excellent coverage of dance.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature * is a great tool to find scholarly articles, dissertations, book chapters, and conference proceedings related to music. While the focus of this database is music, there is a significant amount of literature focused on dance (particularly ballet) and the intersection of dance and music.

Project MUSE * is a multidisciplinary database. Its coverage of performing arts is more focused on performance studies and carries noteworthy journals such as Dance Research Journal.

JSTOR * is an extremely large multidisciplinary database. Note, it generally doesn't provide the 2-4 most recent years of a journal.

IEEE Xplore * provides access to articles and papers published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Contains some materials related to dance and technology of a very technical nature.

PsycINFO * is a psychology database. Use this if you are looking for the psychology of dance or dance therapy topics.

ERIC * is focused on education. There is a relatively large selection of dance education research found here.

Bibliography of Asian Studies * is a multidisciplinary database covering subjects, including dance, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asian studies. Much of this literature isn't covered in other databases.

Selected Major Dance Journals Online from UCI Libraries

Want to stay on top of all of the newest literature in the Dance field? Create a free Browzine account and accomplish it in a snap! It easily allows you to browse journals available through UCI Libraries by subject, put them on your own personal bookshelves, and also be notified when new issues come out. Some of the journals available through this resource are below:

 

Choreographic Practices

Cover of Choreographic Practices

Dance Chronicle

Cover of Dance Chronicle

Dance Research Journal

Cover of Dance Research Journal

Journal of Dance Education

Cover of Journal of Dance Education

Journal of Dance Medicine & Science

Cover of Journal of Dance Medicine & Science

Journal of Dance Education

Cover of Research in Dance Education

Theatre, Dance, and Performance

Cover of Theatre, Dance and Performance Training

Journal of Dance & Somatics

Cover of Journal of Dance & Somatic Practices

Body, Movement and Dance in Psycotherapy

Cover of Body, Movement and Dance in Psychotherapy

Dance Education in PracticeCover of Dance Education in Practice

American Journal of Dance Therapy

Cover of American Journal of Dance Therapy

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance

Cover of Journal of Physical Education, Recreation & Dance